When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate Banded Ice Cream Torte August 26, 2008

Filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

This weeks Tuesday with Dorie…

Drum Roll Please….

was chosen by Amy of Food, Family and Fun. She chose Dorie’s Chocolate Banded Ice Cream Torte located on pages 288-289 in Baking:From My Home to Yours. Just looking at the picture in the books makes me want to dig in. It is so beautiful. I only hope that mine will look even remotely close. The entire week I have been contemplating making the entire recipe or halving it and making mini ice cream tortes. I think I am just going to bite the bullet and make the entire recipe 🙂 .

This is my first ice cream cake/torte that I have ever made. I had a few problems before I even started the recipe. I couldn’t find frozen raspberries in syrup. I just said oh well, and made my own. It isn’t like I haven’t pulled a raspberry sauce out of my butt before. So that is what I did. I bought a 12 oz bag of frozen raspberries and I placed those bad boys in a sauce pan with 1/3 cup sugar, 1 tbsp butter, and a squeeze of a lemon and let it cook down for a bit. Then I let it cool, weighed out 10 oz and then proceed with Dorie’s recipe.

I'M MELTING!!!!

I'M MELTING!!!!

The first two layers set up nicely and everything went pretty smoothly. But then I got in a hurry and should have let the third and forth layer set up a little more. The third layer more than the fourth. It was a little liquid-y in the center when i put the finally layer of ice cream on top and it pushed some of it to the sides. The damage to the inside wasn’t bad at all. The ice cream torte turned out great. It tasted awesome. The only problem was that the ice cream layer was a little icy but I blame myself for that. That could have been from two things: I had to make the raspberries in syrup and my blender broke/went crazy and melted the ice cream too much. Oh well, I liked it and that is all that matters. Now, how do I give this away without it melting and me eating it all 🙂

 

14 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate Banded Ice Cream Torte”

  1. Jules Says:

    Ok, I’ll just say it. The image of you pulling a raspberry sauce out of your butt does not make me want to eat your torte. 😉

    Hehe. Actually, it looks delicious!

  2. Jessica Says:

    That looks great, meltage and all!

  3. Esther Says:

    Great flavor! Looks great!

  4. Jessie Says:

    Your layers look beautiful, great job!

  5. Spike Says:

    Looks like you got the best looking layers of anyone!

  6. nickki Says:

    It looks wonderful, just like the picture in the book! Nice job 🙂

  7. Melissa Says:

    I’m wondering how to give some of mine away too so I don’t have to eat the whole thing. Haven’t come up with any ideas yet. Yours looks perfect… just like Dorie’s. Great job!

  8. Lynne Says:

    Your torte looks great!

  9. Di Says:

    Your torte looks delicious! I usually give away at least part of my TWD recipe of the week, but this one is pretty hard to do that with, I agree. I at least made a slightly smaller version. =)

  10. Jodie Says:

    It looks great! I had a similar experience with the layers being too soft before I put the next one on, and mine started melting before I could take the picture! Great job!

  11. Nancy Says:

    Wow! Talk about layer perfection. That is one gorgeous torte. I was able to pack my torte with ice packs on a bed of ice in a cooler and drive it about 15 minutes to its new home. My relatives were thrilled to receive it and I was even more thrilled to have that particular temptation our of my freezer. It stayed nice and hard throughout the transport, I’m glad to report.

  12. Teanna Says:

    The torte looks Gorgeous- icy ice cream or not!

  13. Judy Says:

    Your torte looks perfect in your picture. I couldn’t find the berries in syrup – so I just used them plain – it was plenty sweet to us.

  14. Barbara Says:

    Gorgeous! How about slicing it up, wrapping really well and stashing in the freezer for later use? I bet it will keep well.


Leave a Reply

