When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #6 August 29, 2008

Filed under: Main Courses,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

So far this whole Vegan Adventure is going pretty smoothly. I have liked everything and haven’t had any mishaps. There is a lot of stuff that is coming in the next week that I LOVED.

Today’s Vegan Adventure is Black Bean, Mushroom, and Quinoa Stuffed Peppers. My first thought when I saw this recipe was, “What the hell is quinoa?” I really have never heard of it before and had no idea what it was. Come to find out it is a complete protein. Alright, way to go quinoa. I had no idea what it looked like either so when I was in the grocery store looking for it I thought I would never find it in the organic section. Then finally the clouds parted, the clerk moved out of the way, and there it was 🙂 .

This recipe was extremely easy to make. The most annoying thing was chopping the mushrooms, which if I had a food processor I would have just put them in there for a few pluses and been done with it. I ended up using yellow peppers instead of red because all of the red bell peppers at the grocery store looked like crap. Also, I did not garnish with fresh cilantro because 1) I forgot it and 2) sometimes I don’t really care for cilantro that much. The filling to the peppers was awesome. I did not expect that flavor from them at all. It had a nice spice from the chile powder, and everything just melded very well together. I would definitely make this again. I also got a thumbs up from the other omni that partook in the stuff pepper fun.

I kind of feel bad for my omni friends because I keep feeding them vegan food. One especially because he pretty much eats meat all the time and maybe a vegetable just to get something else into his system. I hope I am not torturing him by feeding him delicious vegan food. At least he likes it and keeps eating it. Thank you my omni friend 🙂 .

Black Bean, Mushroom, and Quinoa-Stuffed Peppers

Source Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

2 tbsp olive oil

1 medium onion, finely chopped (approx 1 cup)

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups finely chopped mushrooms

1tbsp chile powder

1 tsp salt

1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup quinoa

4 large red bell peppers

1 (15 oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 tsp pure maple syrup

Fresh cilantro for garnish

In a saucepan over medium heat, saute the onions in olive oil for 3 to 5 minutes, until the onions are translucent. Add the garlic and mushrooms; saute about 5 minutes, until the mushrooms have released their moisture. Stir in the chile powder and salt. Add the quinoa and 1 cup of tomato sauce (reserve the rest) and the water, lower the heat and cover, and simmer for about 20 minutes, stirring once.

Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350°F and prepare the peppers: Boil a pot of water. Cut the tops off the peppers and remove the seeds. Boil the peppers for 5 minutes and then drain them.

Combine the beans and maple syrup with the cooked quinoa mixture. Stuff each pepper with fillling and stand them upright in a baking dish. Pour the remaining tomato sauce over the peppers and bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven, garnish with cilantro, and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

