When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #7 September 3, 2008

Filed under: Breakfast,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

Back in college, I used to always go to this vegetarian restaurant. They had the best breakfast in the entire world. I would stick with my usual scrambled eggs over spicy potatoes and a homemade biscuit as my side. Every once in awhile I would mix it up and get cheese or salsa on the eggs, or go the Belgium waffle route, or just plain oatmeal with raisins, walnuts, and brown sugar (when I was trying to be healthy). I loved their coffee too. The restaurant actually had a coffee house/bakery around the corner. and you would know when the fresh biscuits and bread came in because they literally brought them through the front door still on the sheet pan 🙂 . The place was nice, small, and had the friendliest people working there. I miss it.

Every time I went in there I would look at the menu like I usually do and noticed that they had a few vegan options. One of which was vegan biscuits and sausage gravy. I always wanted to try them, but was scared. When I saw this recipe for the same thing in Vegan with a Vengeance I knew that I had to make them the first time I had a chance.

That chance finally came and I was very surprised. The biscuits were nice and flaky, and the gravy was very good. Let me tell you for me as an omni to tell you that is crazy because when I was a kid I used to spend the night at my friends house and her dad (from the south, accent and all) would always make us biscuits and gravy. I don’t know what sausage gravy all the other omnis out there are used to but Mr. H used to cook up the sausage, remove it from the pan, add flour and cook for a minute or two, add whole milk and cook until thickened, and then add the sausage back and serve over biscuits. It was the best sausage and gravy over biscuits that I have EVER had. I apologize to all the vegans that had to read that.

I know my sausage and gravy. So this vegan option was great. I would make this recipe over again. It was very easy to make and tasted yummy. It might look weird but don’t let that deter you. You have to try it for yourself. It will never replace Mr. H’s sausage and gravy but it will be up there as one of the best I had ever had.

Baking Powder Biscuits and White Bean Tempeh Sausage Gravy

Source: Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Baking Powder Biscuits

2 cups all-purpose flour

5 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

3 tbsp non hydrogenated shortening

2 tbsp non hydrogenated margarine

2/3 cup rice or soy milk

Preheat oven to 450°F. Lightly grease a cookie sheet.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cut the shortening and margarine into the flour with a pastry blender or your fingers. Add the rice milk to form a soft dough. Mix well and pat out on a floured counter top until about 1/2 inch thick; cut out 2 inch rounds with the rim of a glass or cookie cutter. Place on prepared cookie sheet and bake for 12 to 15 minutes.

Tempeh Sausage Crumbles

1 (8 oz) pkg tempeh

1 tbsp fennel seeds

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried marjoram or oregano

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp dried sage

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tbsp tamari or soy sauce

1 tsp olive oil

Juice of 1/2 lemon

In a small pan, crumble the tempeh and add enough water to almost cover it. Over medium high heat, simmer the tempeh until most of the water is absorbed, about 12-15 minutes. Drain the ramiaing water and add the rest of the ingredients and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until lightly browned, about 10 minutes

White Bean and Tempeh Sausage Gravy

Tempeh Sausage Crumbles (recipe above)

2 cups cooked white beans or 1 (15 oz) can drained and rinsed

2 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup vegetable broth or water

1/2 tsp salt

A few dashes fresh black pepper

10-12 fresh sage leaves, chopped

Prepare the Tempeh Sausage Crumbles and keep them warm in the pan.

Puree the white beans with the olive oil and vegetable broth in a blender or food processor until relatively smooth. Add to the tempeh crumbles along with the salt and pepper. Heat through for a few minutes. If you want to make the gravy thinner, add a little more vegetable broth. Mix in the sage and cook for another 2 minutes.

To serve: slice a biscuit in half and spoon the gravy over the biscuit.

 

2 Responses to “Vegan Adventure #7”

  1. Andrea Says:

    This looks great, I’ve always wanted to try biscuits and gravy but being a vegetarian hadn’t seen them in restaurants (not veg restaurants around here) Interesting to see it with tempeh, thanks for sharing!

  2. […] the biscuits as close to the recipe as possible.  I have made vegan biscuits before (Pumpkin and Regular) and with most biscuit recipes you just have to replace the milk and the fat that you use for the […]


Leave a Reply

