When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #8 September 4, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cupcakes,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

I have been looking for a way to use the two bananas that are left it my apartment which I had to put in the fridge the other day so that they wouldn’t go bad. They were almost completely black…opps 🙂 I didn’t want to go to the grocery store and I didn’t necessarily want to make cupcakes, but I have been starring at this recipe for days now and have been wanting to make it. I actually have all the ingredients, so I finally gave in and made the damn things.

OH MY CRAP!!!!!

Yes, I said crap. I just made the MOST delicious Elvis Cupcakes aka banana cupcakes with peanut butter buttercream frosting that you could have ever imagine. Thanks to the goddesses that are Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero of Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. No wonder they have a freaking cult following.

It was like a party in my mouth. NO, it WAS a party in my mouth. IT was fantastic. The peanut butter buttercream frosting reminded me of a Nutter Butter. It tasted exactly like it. I was in heaven. I used to eat Nutter Butters all the time as a kid. The banana cupcake was just as good. It reminded me of the banana nut loaf I always make, which isn’t vegan at all. The cupcake had a nice sweetness to it, no off flavor, moist, and perfect. What more could a omni like me ask for 🙂 It was the perfect cupcake.

There is only one thing that could have made it better: dark chocolate chips. Next time I will make a banana chocolate chip cupcake with peanut butter buttercream frosting and it will knock me over.

Banana Cupcake

Source: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero

1/2 cup very ripe banana, mashed well

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup canola oil

2/3 cup rice milk

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp almond extract

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Line muffin pan with paper liners

Push the mashed bananas through a sieve or blend for a few seconds with an immersion blender to get ride of any remaining lumps.

Sift the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and sugar in a large bowl and mix. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the oil, rice milk, vanilla, almond extract, and mashed banana. Create a well in the dry ingredients and fold in wet ingredients, mixing just to combine – don’t over mix.

Fill liners two thirds full and bake for 20-22 minutes till knife inserted into cupcake comes out clean. Cool completely on wire rack before frosting. When cooled top with peanut butter buttercream frosting.

Peanut Butter Buttercream Frosting

Source: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero

1/4 cup margarine, softened

2 tbsp shortening

1/3 cup creamy peanut butter

1 tbsp molasses, optional

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted

1-2 tbsp rice milk

With electric handheld mixer, or if you are crazy like me by hand, cream together margarine and shortening at medium speed till smooth. Add peanut butter, molasses, and vanilla and beat until very smooth, 2-3 minutes. Beat in sugar; mixture will be very stiff. Dribble in rice milk a little at a time, beating continuously till frosting is pale tan and very fluffy.

Adjust the thickness of the frosting by adding rice milk or more confectioners’ sugar in small increments, if necessary. Frost cooled cupcakes.

 

2 Responses to “Vegan Adventure #8”

  1. drfaulken Says:

    These were SO GOOD.

  2. […] Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Buttercream – V […]


Leave a Reply

