When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #9 September 8, 2008

Filed under: Breakfast,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

Todays Vegan Adventure is a breakfast one. I wanted to make the “Fronch” Toast ever since I saw the picture and the ingredients that it contained. To accompany it I was going to make the Tempeh Bacon because I had some Tempeh left over. I was just about to open the tempeh and marinate it when I opened Vegan With A Vengeance and realized that I didn’t have apple cider.

Bummer, maybe another time.

I actually made my own French bread (yes, it is vegan) in my little bread maker two days before so that the bread could stale over night. The bread turned out fantastic and I just used the recipe that came with the bread maker. I usually make all of my bread by had but I figured this would be an excuse for me to use to maker 🙂

For the “Fronch” Toast I decided to add my little spin on it. When I usually make French Toast I add vanilla extract, cinnamon, and a bit of sugar to the egg/milk mixture. The vegan version was missing those three little components. I added the cinnamon and some sugar and figured that the vanilla extract might add too much to it, so I left that out. Which now as I look back I think I should have put it in or used a vanilla soy milk because it felt like the “Fronch” Toast was missing something.

To serve I dusted the “Fronch” Toast with powdered sugar and put some vegan margarine and maple syrup on top. It was very good except I felt there was a flavor component missing. I was scared that the flavor would be weird because of the use of chickpea flour in it but it was nice. I think that the bread should probably be sliced 1/2 inch thick so that the liquid mixture can sink into the bread and softened it.

“Fronch” Toast

Load of Italian or French bread, baguette shapped, preferable stale

1/2 cup soy creamer

1/2 cup rice milk or soy milk

2 tbsp cornstarch

1/4 cup chickpea flour

1 tsp ground cinnamon

2 tbsp sugar

1 tsp vanilla

Slice the bread into 1-inch rounds. The bread should be a bit stale.

Pour the soy cream and rice milk into a wide, shallow bowl. Mix in the cornstarch and stir until dissolved. Add the chickpea flour and mix until it is mostly absorbed; some lumps are okay. Add in the cinnamon, sugar, and vanilla.

Heat a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add enough oil to create a think layer on the bottom (a tablespoon or two).

Soak the bread sliced in the mixture and transfer to the skillet. Cook each side for about 2 minutes; if they are not browning enough when you flip them, heat for 1 or 2 more minutes on each sides. They should be golden brown with flecks of dark brown.

Dust with powdered sugar and serve with maple syrup and vegan margarine.

 

Leave a Reply

