When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Whopper Malted Drops September 9, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

This weeks Tuesday with Dorie was chosen by Rachel of Confessions of a Tangerine Tart. She chose Chocolate Whopper Malted Drops on page 85 in Dorie Greenspan’s book Baking: From My Home to Yours. As soon as I saw this recipe I was EXCITED. I love Whoppers aka Chocolate Cover Malt Balls. YAY!!!

I remember being so excited when I was a kid when we would go trick or treating on Halloween and I would get Whoppers. My favorite way to eat them would be to suck all of the chocolate off the ball and then let the inside melt in my mouth. YUMMY!!! I also remembered one of my parents really liking Whoppers, so I was excited and hoped that I could mail them a few. I called my mom (who I thought loved them) and asked her if she likes Whoppers and she said, “Not really, but your father loves them.” So I call my dad next and ask him and he says, “They are okay, but your mom really likes them. But you know I will eat anything.” I guess they are both confused. Thanks dad, I appreciate your willingness to partake in the cookies 🙂

While chopping up the Whoppers for this recipe, I noticed something interesting. There is such thing as a bad Whopper. Notice the picture of the good Whopper below to the left. It has a chocolate coating on the outside and a full malted interior. Now look at the BAD WHOPPPERS to the right of that. They have they chocolate coating, but they are hallow. It looks like a caramel spider crawled into those balls and spun a caramel web of malt that sticks to your teeth and tastes a little like a burnt malt ball. You never would have thought that such a thing existed until you bite into one. Like I did, yucky 😦

Bad Whoppers

The cookie tasted very nice. I actually didn’t notice a malt flavor at all. They are very chocolaty and have almost a nice doughy chocolate taste to them. My favorite part was the chewy bits of melted whoppers. I noticed that if there are whoppers on the edge of the cookie when they bake they won’t bake in a perfect round circle. They will become deformed. But who cares they are tasty. This would be a good late night snack with a giant glass of milk, a comfy blanket, and a movie 🙂 .

 

13 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Whopper Malted Drops”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Your cookies look great! I chuckled at the story about your parents… they sound like mine!

  2. Esther Says:

    Yours look great!

  3. Jules Says:

    Glad you liked the cookies! I actually really enjoy the chewy whoppers. Send ’em my way!

  4. Great cookies. And you got to use your blog title for this recipe, since Dorie left out the temp!

  5. drfaulken Says:

    These were bad to the ass. I was skeptical at first, as I don’t typically like a lot of stuff in one cookie. However, the Whoppers were subtle. The last bite of my last cookie was blissful: just a hint of Whopper, right at the end.

    Perfect.

  6. Caitlin Says:

    Definitely good with milk, and I like the adds of a movie and a blanket. Fabulous.

  7. Beth G Says:

    Yours look fabulous- I always associate Whoppers with Halloween, those little mini packs rock!

  8. Shari Says:

    Interesting tidbit about the insides of the whoppers. I didn’t check all of mine. I loved the crunchy, chewy bits and next time won’t chop them so much. Great job!

  9. pamela Says:

    They look great! I had a couple of “bad” whoppers in my bunch, too.

  10. Sugar Betty Says:

    I like the looks of your cookies . . chocolatey! Good job!

  11. Rachel Says:

    Great job! Thanks for making my pic. 😀
    http://www.tangerine-tart.blogspot.com

  12. Barbara Says:

    Your cookies look so lovely and chocolate-y!

  13. I love imploded Whoppers! I search for them in every package I buy. You can usually tell if a Whopper is going to be deformed because it’ll have a small dent or even a tiny hole on one side.

    I absolutely must try making these cookies.

    ~ Debi


Leave a Reply

