When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

I Finally Used the Iron September 10, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Kitchen Gadgets,Pizzelles — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

The stove top pizzelle iron that is.

It has taken me almost 2 months to get enough courage to use the stove top pizzelle iron that I bought from Fantes. The whole process actually went quite well and as soon as the iron got properly heated it didn’t take time to make all the pizzelles. At first when I was making the first few they came out great, but then the next couple actually started to stick to the iron. I realized that I wasn’t heating both sides evenly and as soon as I started to heat both sides consistently there was no more sticking.

I prefer anise pizzelles over another other flavor. If you have never had anise it has a licorice flavor to it. Other flavors that you can make are lemon, vanilla, chocolate, almond. Actually pretty much any flavoring can be used. Just make sure to use 2 tsp of whatever flavor you like; however, if you are using anise oil only use 1 tsp anise oil and 1 tsp vanilla extract. The anise oil is actually very strong. For chocolate just add 1/2 cup of cocoa powder in with the flour and use 2 tsp of vanilla extract.

Anise Pizzelles

Modified from Sweet Maria’s Itialin Cookie Tray by Maria Bruscino Sanchez

3 eggs

1 cup sugar

1 tsp anise oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 pound unsalted butter, melted and cooled

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

Preheat pizzelle iron as directed by the manufacturer.

In a medium bowl mix together the eggs and sugar. Add extracts and melted butter. Gradually add flour and baking powder to make a sticky dough.

Drop dough from a teaspoon onto the hot iron. If the iron you are using allows you to bake 2 pizzelles at once drop a teaspoonful into the center of each pattern outline. Based on the size of your iron and the size pizzelles it makes you might have to use a little more or less dough.

Close the cover of the iron and bake for 30 to 45 seconds, or until nicely browned.

Using two forks, remove the hot wafer from the iron and place on a flat parchment-lined cookie sheet. Be sure to lay the hot pizzelles in a single layer on the cookie sheet. When they are completely cool, you can stack them.

 

6 Responses to “I Finally Used the Iron”

  1. Joyce Ross Says:

    I have a cast iron pizzelle maker, that has been the family for over 100 years. Anise is the only flavor I can remember. Even though at Christmas time vanilla ones are available for purchase.

    I was wondering if you are happy with your iron. Someone I know is looking for a stovetop model. Since mine is very old I have no knowledge of these.

    • pastrybrush Says:

      I am actually very happy with my stovetop iron. It actually works faster than the electric one that I have. The last few times that I have made pizzelles I usually make them on the electric, but that is just because I am lazy and don’t want to get the other one out 🙂

  2. Missy Says:

    Thanks for the recipe and tips. I use the electric version. My question is when slightly browned I remove them but they aren’t as crisp as store bought. Am I doing something wrong?

    • pastrybrush Says:

      When you make them are you locking the iron all the way down? You might just be making them a little on the thick side.

    • Joyce Ross Says:

      I don’t add as much flour so the batter is thinner which makes crisper pizzelles

      • pastrybrush Says:

        I have actually started putting the batter in the fridge so that it firms up so that it is less messy. It actually enables me to scoop and roll the batter into balls. But i am fine with either soft or crisp pizzelles 🙂
        But i think Joyce’s idea is a great one.


Leave a Reply

