When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #11 September 15, 2008

Filed under: Sauces,Side Dishes,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

WOW!!!

After all of the cupcakes I have been making, I needed to slide in a few savory dishes. For the first one I decided to make the Fresh Mango Summer Rolls in Vegan with a Vengeance. Problem is sometimes I like mangos and other times, not so much. But I do love me some avocado, yummy. So I decided for the recipe that I would sub avocado for the mango and it turned out fantastic. Since this recipe makes 20 rolls and I wasn’t about to sit down and eat 20, I decided to make some non-vegan rolls to satisfy my omni friends too. For half of the rolls I added 1.5 sliced of shrimp. They were nice, but the vegan ones were very tasty.

In the middle of making the dipping sauce I realized that I didn’t have anymore rice vinegar so I substituted white vinegar and it worked just fine. I think that the summer rolls would also go great with a creamy peanut sauce. I found a nice one online at the Post Punk Kitchen; since I didn’t have any hot peppers I decided to use 2 tsp of hot chili oil.  Also, somehow in my sleepy state I overlooked the creamy peanut butter and used crunchy, and substituted lemon for the lime.  The peanut sauce has a nice flavor and went great with the rolls. These were a little time consuming, but I would definitely make them again. They are very refreshing and yummy.

Summer Rolls

Modified by Pastrybrush – Source: Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

2 avocados, peeled and sliced

1/2 seedless cucumber (about 1/2 cup) sliced into matchstickes

1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves

4 oz very thin rice noodles

1/2 cup roasted peanuts, finely chopped

20 rice paper wrappers

Thai Dipping Sauce (recipe follows)

Spicy Peanut Dip

Boil a medium size pot of water. Turn off the heat and add the noodles. Let them soak for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Drain the noodles and run them under cold water until they feel cold. Transder them to a bowl and begin your rolls.

Have ready a pie pan or large wide bowl filled with hot water (tap is fine)and clean counter space or a cutting board. Place the rice paper wrappers, two at a time, into the water until they are flexible (30 seconds to 1 minute). Carefully remove from water and lay flat on a clean surface. In the lower two-thirds of the roll place a tablespoon of noodles and sprinkle a few of the shopped peanuts (about 1 tsp) over them. On top of that place 3 to 4 slices of avocado, then 5 strips of cucumber, and three or four cilantro leaves. Fold the left and right sides over the filling, then take the bottom of the wrapper and begin rolling. Keep wrapped and chilled until ready to eat and serve with dipping sauce.

**For you non vegans out there, this is also nice with shrimp. For 10 shrimp rolls, use 15 medium size shrimps sliced in half, and place 3 halves in each roll before you place the noodles down. Then continue with the above recipe.**

Thai Dipping Sauce

Source: Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

1/4 cup rice vinegar

1/4 cup water

1 tsp Asian chili oil

1 garlic clove, minced

3 tbsp roasted peanuts, chopped

1 1/2 tsp sugar

Mix all the ingredients together and chill until ready to serve.

 

2 Responses to “Vegan Adventure #11”

  1. Sara Says:

    Mmm..I love summer rolls! Thanks for the recipe for the spicy peanut dipping sauce! I’ve been on the hunt for one to go with my summer rolls…

  2. […] Avocado Summer Rolls with Thai Dipping Sauce- V […]


Leave a Reply

