When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate Chunkers September 16, 2008

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Claudia of Fool for Food and she chose Chocolate Chunkers on page 70 in Baking: From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.  When I read this recipe all I could think was this is going to be expensive.  Then I thought, “Crap, I have no money.”  I gathered up the ingredients in my apartment and I could make a 1/2 batch.  That is what I set out to do with a few modifications. 

I didn’t know how I felt about chocolate, peanuts, and rasins all together in one cookie.  Now don’t get me wrong I love peanuts and chocolate together and I love raisins and chocolate together, but all three.  I didn’t want to chance it so I decided to use dried cherries and pecans instead.  They turned out great.  The cookies are definately rich but the pecans and cherries just made this cookie fantastic.  I don’t see how they could be eaten any other way.

For the chocolate I ended up using the unsweetened that was called for.  I actually bought a bar of 99& cacao about a year ago just for the fun of it.  Now it finally came in handy.  For the rest of the chocolate I used some left over baking white chocolate and bittersweet chocolate chips (60% Ghiradelli, of course), no semisweet or milk chocolate for me.

Okay, I need to address this whole “turd” issue.  Alot of members thought that when the cookie baked up that it resembled a turd.  The first time I saw this I laughed because I could completely see how it could.  Now I have to say that my cookies do not resemble turds, but maybe that is because I didn’t use peanuts 🙂

 

14 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate Chunkers”

  1. Di Says:

    I left the nuts out of mine, but pecans would be my first choice if I were to put some in. Your cookies look delicious!

  2. Jules Says:

    I thought these were a pricey cookie. Yours look tasty!

  3. Lori Says:

    no kidding – so much chocolate, so much money! i didn’t add the white chocolate because it was just one more thing to buy, and i don’t even like it. yours look great!!

  4. Marthe Says:

    I didn’t use peanuts either. I used Pecans but coarsly chopped them. My Chunkers did somewhat resemble turds, but I absolutely loved them!!

  5. macduff Says:

    I know. I’m skint after this recipe. But yours look beautiful – more like Valentines Turtles that come in a big red, heart-shaped box, not turds.

  6. Michelle Says:

    I like your cookies, they look super tasty! I used golden raisins in half of mine. I like them better with out. My husband hated the raisins. He said why does that Dorie add all that yucky stuff like cherries and fruit bits to a perfectly good chocolate cookie?! I love these cookies!

  7. Caitlin Says:

    Peanuts = turds? Pecans and cherries sound wonderful though 🙂

  8. Mara Says:

    hee hee i loved the bad descriptors…who wants to eat turds? unfortunately it’s not stopping me…! i didn’t put melted chocolate and used a PB base but they are amazing!

  9. Peggy Says:

    I loved your cookies. Those were great ideas and this was a very expensive cookie to make. I used pecans and butterscotch morsels in mine and they were fabuloso. Good job with yours though!

  10. Melissa Says:

    I wasn’t so sure about the nuts and raisins and chocolate together either – so I left out the nuts and the raisins. Just plain old turds! Hehe. But they were delicious!

  11. Good job! I like the modifications you made and the Chunker is nice and un-turdlike.

  12. Christine Says:

    I have got to use cherries next time! Your cookies look great!

  13. Barbara Says:

    I used pecans and raisins too, and loved them. Yes, these sure were pricey! Definitely a special-occasion cookie.


Leave a Reply

