When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #12 September 17, 2008

I was completely surprised when the third issue of Desserts Magazine came out and it was all vegan.  All I could think of was that my vegan adventure was exposed.  Too bad they didn’t ask me to write for them because I would have given them one of the recipes that I had actually made so far.  The first few recipes in Desserts Magazine were from My Sweet Vegan by Hannah Kaminsky, which is actually a book that I have been wanting to get but because I am low on money I have been unable to purchase.

Funny thing is I wasn’t surprised at all that they mentioned Isa, Terry, and Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.  Too bad it took them until page 41 to mention them and the cupcake that I have been waiting to make.  Which is actually from Vegan with a Vengeance...

FAUXTESS CUPCAKES   :imagine an echo:

Oh Fauxtess Cupcake and your long recipe.  No part of this recipe was hard to make; it was just two ingredients that gave me trouble and then my mishap with the squiggles.

The first ingredient that I was having trouble finding was the black cocoa powder, which there is no suitable substitution for so just buckle down and pay the $6.95 and order it from King Arthur.  It is completely worth it because once you taste these cupcakes you will continue to make them until you use up that entire pound of black cocoa powder.  The second ingredient was soy milk powder.  I was unable to find this ingredient, or so I thought.  I was very close to just ordering it from Amazon.com, but it only comes in packs of two and what the hell am I, an omni and not avid soy milk drinker, going to do with two containers of soy milk powder.  I was so close to throwing in the towel for this recipe and then I wandered into a locally owned and operated grocery store, which has a FANTASTIC organic section, and after wandering through those 3 aisles for 10 minutes I found it and it was cheaper at the store than online.  YAY!!!

Finally, I was able to start Vegan Adventure #12.  Cupcake batter extremely easy to make, but I came across a problem that I haven’t had with any of Isa’s cupcakes.  I had too much batter.  The recipe says to only fill the cupcake liners 3/4 full, and I did and had extra batter.  Being the way that I am, I didn’t want to waste it so I added it to the rest of the cupcakes to make them more full.

BAD IDEA!!!

Once the liners are 3/4 full don’t add anymore batter because you will end up with cupcakes that go over the liners and those little guys are hard to dip in the ganache without their tops coming off and they don’t look as pretty.  GRRRR!!

Yeah, the Fluffy White Icing was easy to make too, but I decided to do it by hand.  I mixed everything together and the icing was a pale yellow, and the soy milk powder gave it a grainy texture.

CRAP!!

It’s supposed to be white.  I went back and looked at the directions and it said to beat the icing for 10 minutes.  So I caved in and got the hand mixer out. I beat that baby for 10 minutes and what do you know it turned white, fluffier, and wasn’t as grainy.  Note to self, when Isa says beat for 10 minutes DO IT 🙂

For my final problem I encounter the dreaded squiggle monster.  The one thing that makes the Fauxtess look like Hostess.  First time I made the icing I thought it was thick enough and piped it on.  NOPE, not thick enough.  I was going to give these away to co-workers and didn’t want the no muffin top, nice looking cupcakes to look crappy.  So I wiped off the squiggles, re dipped them in the ganache (double the chocolate top) and made 1/8 of the icing recipe.  I made a parchment cone and everything, it was perfect. I was going to pipe on the cupcakes and the tip of the cone opened wider than I wanted, pooper, but it still looked better than the liquidy squiggles so I was happy.

In the end I picked up the crappiest looking cupcake and ate it.  It was AWESOME!!!  Who cares what these babies look like they are TASTY.  But I will still give my co-workers the prettiest ones because I don’t want them to think less of me 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

