When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #14 September 22, 2008

Filed under: Breakfast,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Remember awhile back when I posted about vegan biscuits and gravy.  That was adventure 7 if I am not mistaken.  I had mentioned a vegetarian restaurant that I used to frequent back in college that had some vegan offerings on their menu.  One of their offerings that I was always curious about was scrambled tofu.  My friend Stack use to go there and everyone that he was with used to complain when he got the scrambled tofu.  I always wondered what it looked like and tasted like.  I guess one day I should go back and order both of these dishes for breakfast and see how they measure up to Isa’s versions.

My curiousity got the best of me and when I finally go my nutritional yeast in I knew that I had to try my hand at some Scrambled Tofu.  It was very simple to make and it smelled fantastic when it was cooking.  I also made some spicy potatoes to go along with it.  I learned a trick from my Cooks Country Magazine a few years back when it comes to pan frying potatoes.  If you cut them up and microwave them in a bowl covered with plastic wrap it will cook the potatoes and you just brown them up in the skillet.  I used to go through the trouble of steaming them first and then putting them in the pan.  The microwave is A LOT faster.  This also works if you want to make roasted potatoes too.  When you take them out of the microwave toss them with seasoning and throw them in a 350°F oven until brown and toasty.

Everything turned out great and very tasty.  Since I was the only one eating the scramble there was no way that I could eat something that serves four in one day.  I decided to save some for the morning and I heated them up and they just weren’t as good as they were when they were fresh from the skillet.  So I guess next time I will make what I need.  The recipe would be pretty easy to scale down 🙂

Spicy Potatoes

Courtesy of Pastrybrush

2 small Yukon Gold Potatoes, 1/2 dice

1 tbsp olive oil

1-2 tsp cajun seasoning

Put the diced potatoes in a microwave safe dish and place plastic wrap over them.  Cook on high power for 5 minutes.  Heat oil in a medium skillet on medium heat.  Add the potatoes and sprinkle on the seasoning.  Cook until the potatoes begin to brown and crisp up on the outside.  Serves one.

 

One Response to “Vegan Adventure #14”

  1. Sara Says:

    Mmm…cajun spices as seasoning for spicy potatoes…Genius! I love making spicy potatoes, but I always opt for mexican spices – next time I’ll have to give creole a whirl! Thanks for the inspiration!!


Leave a Reply

