When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #17 and VeganMofo October 2, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cupcakes,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

The second day of October and it is my second entry for VeganMofo and my 17th Vegan Adventure.  I warned you; more cupcakes.  Tomorrow I will mix it up a  bit but for today COCONUT HEAVEN CUPCAKES 🙂  They were perfect. 

I did make a few modifications because I like my cupcakes a little sweet.  I decided to use sweetened shredding coconut instead of unsweetened because that I what I had on hand.  Also, I used low fat coconut milk, which I think has less of a coconut flavor that regular coconut milk.  I find that extremely odd, but oh well.  I tasted the batter before I baked it and decided that it wasn’t coconutty enough for me so I added 3/4 tsp of imitation coconut extract.  That did it for me.  It bought me back to the days when I was a kid going to the snow cone stand and getting my Italian Wedding Cake flavored snow cone 🙂

I also reduced the vanilla extract in the frosting from 1 tsp to 1/2 tsp and added 1/2 tsp imitation coconut extract.  This made everything taste great.  I love the flavor of coconut and the texture.  These cupcakes turned out great and they had just enough sweetness in them that it didn’t kick you in the face.  The cupcake was moist and the icing was sweet and wonderful.  All of the modifications that I made to the recipe I put in bold and italicized.  Happy Vegan Cupcaking 🙂

Coconut Heaven Cupcakes

Source: Vegan With A Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

For the Cupcake:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup canola oil

1 cup coconut milk

2/3 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 tsp coconut extract

1 cup sweetened shredding coconut

For the Frosting:

1/4 cup non-hydrogenated margarine at room temperature

1/4 cup coconut milk

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp coconut extract

2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted

1 cup sweetened shredded coconut

Bake the Cupcakes:

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Line a twelve-miffin tin with paper liners, set aside.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In a separate bowl combine the oil, coconut milk, sugar, coconut extract, and vanilla.  Pour the dry ingredients into the wet and mix until smooth.  Fold in the 1 cup sweetened coconut.  Use an ice-cream scoop to fill each miffin cup about two-thirds full.  Bake for 10 to 22 minutes; the cupcakes should be slightly browned around the edges and spring back with touched.  Remove them from the muffin tin and place on a cooling rack.

Make the Frosting:

Cream the margaine until light and fluffy.  Add the coconut milk, vanilla, and coconut extract and combine.  Add the sifted confectioners’ sugar and mix until smooth (use an exlectri hand held mixer; otherwise it might take a good 5 minutes to mix).  Add the coconut and combine.  Refrigerate until ready to use.

Frost whent he cupcakes have cooled fully.  You can sprinkle a little more coconut on top if you like, or put a berry on them for a little color.

 

One Response to “Vegan Adventure #17 and VeganMofo”

  1. bex Says:

    sometimes I imagine heaven is made of coconut.


Leave a Reply

