When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #18 and VeganMofo #3 October 3, 2008

Filed under: Curry,Main Courses,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 4:33 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I have been looking at this recipe for awhile and kept wondering what Green Thai Curry tasted like.  I guess it was the list of ingredients that had been putting be off, but finally I buckled down and decided that it was time.  The hardest part of the recipe was making the green chile paste, which I will admit I could have done a lot better with.  First off, when Isa says to use a coffee grinder to grind your spices DO IT.  Don’t think this would be the best time to use your mortar and pestle that has been sitting untouched for almost a year.  Because if you are me there is no way that you will be able to grind the spices into a powder.  But the coffee grinder you don’t use very often would have done the job.

I guess I could say the only downfall of this recipe was me.  The spice flavor would have been nicer and I wouldn’t feel the random coriander seeds in my mouth, if I would have ground the spices to a powder.  Also, I think that the curry would have been a nicer shade of green without flecks if I used a food processor.  Oh well, the curry was very tasty.  I served it over rice.  It actually wasn’t spicy at all to me, which might be because the peppers that I got at the store were not as spicy.  Sometimes you get the spicy ones and other times you don’t.  It is like a game of pick the spicy pepper 🙂

Green Thai Curry

Source: Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

FOR THE CHILE PASTE:

2 small Thai green peppers or serrano chiles, seeded and chopped

2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and chopped

1/2 cup boiling water

2 tsp crushed coriander seeds

1 tsp cumin seeds

5 white peppercorns

1 tbsp fresh chopped lemongrass

1 tbsp chopped fresh ginger

3 cloves garlic

1 cup lightly packed fresh cilantro, plus extra for garnish

2 tsp finely grated lime zest

1 cup shallots, chopped

EVERYTHING ELSE:

5 tbsp peanut oil

1 block tofu, pressed and cut into small triangles

1 red bell pepper, seeded and thinly sliced

1 medium-sized red onion, sliced into thin half moons

1 (15 oz) can coconut milk

1 1/2 tbsp pure maple syrup

Juice of 1 lime

1/2 cup lightly packed fresh basil

To make the chili paste, place the serranos and jalapenos in a bowl, cover with about 1/2 cup boiling water, and let sit for 15 minutes.  Place the coriander seeds, cumin seeds, and peppercorns in a small skillet and toast over medium heat for about 2 minutes, until they are fragrant.  Transfer to a food processor and grind into a powder.  (if you are using a blender instead, it may not grind the seeds into a powder, it may just bounce them aorund, so either use a mortar and pestle or a coffee grinder to grind them or just place them with all the other ingredients and hope for the best.)  Add the remaining ingredients, including the chiles in their water; grind to a paste.  Cover and set aside until ready to use.

Heat 2 tbsp of peanut oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the tofu triangles and heat on each side until golden brown (about 4 minutes per side).  Transfer to a large plat and cover with foil to keep warm.  In the same skillet, saute the red pepper and onions (add a little extra oil if needed) for about 3 minutes, until just slightly tender.

Preheat a heavy-bottomed medium-sized saucepan over low-medium heat.  Add the chile paste and cook for about 2 minutes, stirring constantly.  Add the coconut milk and turn the heat up a bit.  Mix together until the paste is incorporated; bring to a low boil.  Add the maple syrup and lime juice, taste for sweetness, then add a little more maple syrup if necessary.  Place the tofu, peppers, and onions in the sauce and cover; cook for 5 minutes.  Add the basil and turn off the heat.  Let sit for 5 minutes or so before serving.  Transder to serving bowls and garnish with fresh cilantro.

 

2 Responses to “Vegan Adventure #18 and VeganMofo #3”

  1. sheree Says:

    I never seem to buy lemon grass when I shop. Then I run across a recipe like this and feel frustrated. Maybe I should put it on my shopping list. silly me! I have to give this a try,

  2. bex Says:

    I love thai curries but never seem to make them much. I grew a bunch of thai chilies over the summer though so I should get on that


Leave a Reply

