When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Pumpkin-Spice Doughnuts October 8, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Doughnuts — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

I know I haven’t been on top of my VeganMofo entries this week and I was so close to making these Pumpkin-Spice Doughnuts vegan.  But I couldn’t bring myself to do it.  I had to try the recipe as it was first, so that when I eventually made them vegan I could see if there was any taste difference.  All I have to say is that these doughnuts were fantastic.  I came upon the recipe in the October 2008 issue of Cuisine at Home.   I love pumpkin, spices, and doughtnuts so who wouldn’t want to makes these doughnuts.

I changed a few things in the recipe since I did not have pumpkin pie spice, buttermilk, or the correct biscuit cutters.  For the pumpkin pie spice I substituted 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp nutmeg.  For the buttermilk I used regular milk and added a tsp of apple cider vinegar to it.  Because I do not own a specialized doughnuts cutter or the correct sized biscuit cutters I ended up using a 2 1/2 inch scalloped biscuit cutter and the bottom of a large pastry tip as my cutters (used to cut the doughnut holes out).  I was actually running around my apartment with a ruler measuring anything that had a circular top to see if it was 1 inch and everything was always 1.5 inches or 2 inches.  I finally decided that I should check my pastry tips and none of the ends were big enough but the bottoms of the large tips were.  YAY!!!

I ended up using my Le Crueset FLAME Dutch Oven to fry these bad boys.  I attached my candy thermometer to the side of the pan to make sure that I kept my oil at the correct temperature and it worked like a charm.  The doughtnuts actually turned out great.  The recipe made 25 doughnuts and 25 doughnut holes.  I knew that keeping 25 doughnuts and doughnut holes around my apartment wasn’t a good ideas so I saved 3 doughnuts and doughnuts and hole and took the rest of them to a near by comic book shop that my friends were at playing games at.  They went over great and everyone loved them.  I found out that the apple cider glazed ones were the first to go, but I thought the cinnamon sugar ones were just as tasty.

If you have an hour to waste and you have the ingredients like I did I would recommend making these doughnuts.  You will not be disappointed.

Pumpkin-Spice Doughnuts

Source: Cuisine at Home, October 2008 Issue, page 31

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 cup canned or fresh pumpkin puree

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup butter milk

1/4 cup brown sugar

3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted

4 tsp baking powder

2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

3 cups sifted all-purpose flour

Vegetable oil, enough to fry in

Whisk egg and yolk together in a large bowl until frothy.  add pumpkin, sugar, buttermilk, brown sugar, and butter; whisk until combined.  Stir in baking powder, pie spice, salt, and soda.  Fold flour in gradually until a stick dough forms; cover with plastic wrap and freeze for 15 minutes.  Meanwhile, heat 2″ oil to 370°F in an electric skillet, deep fryer, or straight-sided pan over medium heat.

Pat out dough on a well floured surface to 1/2 inch thick, then cut with a 3″ and 1″ biscuit cutters dipped in flour.  Transfer doughnuts and holes to a floured baking sheet using a spatula that has been dusted in flour.  Fry doughnuts and holes in batches in the oil until browned, about 2 minutes, turning once (holes cook faster).  Drain on a paper towel-lined baking sheet.  Finish with sugar or glaze

Apple Cider Glaze

1/4 cup apple cider

Pinch of salt

3 cups powdered sugar

heat cider and salt in small saucepan over low until hot.  Off heat, whisk in powdered sugar until smooth.  Dip cooled doughnuts in glaze and let stand about 5 minutes.

Cinnamon Sugar

1 cup sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon (I used 2 tsp)

Mix sugar and cinnamon in a small paper bag.  Toss doughnuts and holes in sugar mixture while hot.

 

11 Responses to “Pumpkin-Spice Doughnuts”

  1. Oh my! two of my favorite things. Pumpkin and donuts! Looks great!!!

  2. Beth Says:

    Wow- those look amazing!! I love all spicy/pumkiny flavored things for the fall. I’m sure they were delish!

  3. Monique Says:

    What type of egg replacer did you use for the egg and the yolk?

  4. pastrybrush Says:

    I actually did not make this recipe vegan the first time around. I will probably do it this weekend. I was actually going to use 1/4 cup of soy yogurt for the egg and 2 tbsp of pumpkin for the yolk. I also thought about using applesauce to replace the egg too. I figured that that flavor would go well with the pumpkin. To replace the buttermilk, I was going to use rice milk (milder flavor than soy) and add 1 tsp of apple cider vinegar to it. Once I make the recipe over as vegan I will do a post on it 🙂

  5. I am going to make these donuts today… yours look absolutely delicious!

  6. Di Says:

    Oh, yum! Those look fantastic. I definitely want to try these, but I need to come up with a better frying setup. The last doughnuts I made came out rather oily (I think I wasn’t keeping the oil hot enough).

  7. Natalie Says:

    I made this recipe and the dough came out so sticky even after i put it in the freezer for 15 minutes 😦
    I used regulaur milk instead of buttermilk, could that be the reason why? Do you know of any way to fix the batter?

    • pastrybrush Says:

      The nature of this dough is to be very sticky. The only way I have gotten around that is to cover my board, the top of the dough, and my hands in flour while I am pressing the dough out and make sure your cutter has flour on it too. IT gets to be a little messy. I hope that helps

  8. […] found this recipe for Pumpkin-Spice Donuts at a blog called When in Doubt, Leave it at […]

  9. […] with the pumpkin doughnuts.  Recipe wise, it was very similar to something I have made before (see regular version here, and vegan version), flavor wise I would stick with what I made […]

  10. Argent Says:

    I made this a few years ago, it is amazing! Luckily the recommended canned pumpkin is the same brand that we usually buy.


Leave a Reply

