When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Vegan Adventure #20 and VeganMofo #5 for the Dogs October 9, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Dog Treats,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I have been searching for things vegan to make and I am currently trying to stay away from sweets because as you can tell I have been making A LOT of cupcakes.  I have been searching my vegan cookbooks and some not so vegan and I have come up with a line up of dishes that I will be making soon.  Some which might sound a little odd to you.  First I would like to mention that I am currently an omni and so are my two adorable monkeys.

Every once in awhile I make them some puppy treats and I decided that this would be the time to make them some low fat vegan treats.  Which keeps the cupcakes away from my belly 🙂

The recipe line up for the next week is as follows:

  • Baked Potato and Greens Soup with a Potato Wedge Crouton (Veganomicon)
  • Chickpea Cutlets with a Red Wine Roux (Veganomicon) served with Agava-Mustard Roasted Potatoes and Roasted Asparagus
  • Pumpkin Drop Cookies – Vegan Dog Treats
  • Peanut Butter Oat Biscuits – Vegan Dog Treats

Since this post is about my two monkeys, I actually veganized the Pumpkin Drop Cookies fromYou Bake’em Dog Biscuits Cookbook by Janine Adams.  I am always weird about things that I feed my dogs, ever since I read Poisons and Toxic Food For Dogs, Foods to Avoid Feeding Your Dogs, and Plants Which are Potentially Poisonous on Dr. Fosters and Smith.  I have several dog biscuit cookbooks but I am always afraid to make some of the recipes because they contain ingredients (garlic, onions, etc.) that you are not supposed to feed your dogs because they can cause adverse reactions.  Over the years I have found some healthy treats that my two babies love.  Those are baby carrots, Gala apples, and strawberries.

The baby carrots started because I used to snack on carrots in the car while taking car trips.  Theoden my oldest would sit next to me in the passengers seat and always looked at me while I was eating the carrots.  I think he was trying to do the Jedi mind trick on me, and I guess one day it worked.  I took a small bite out of the carrot and gave it to him, and ever since then if I get the carrots out he goes crazy.  The apples started because he was just being a little begger again and I gave him a small piece.  Ever since then if I am slicing an apple up in the kitchen he comes running over and just sits under me until he gets a piece.  Sometimes he does it when I am chopping up onions because he thinks it is an apple since the slicing sounds the same.  The strawberries are a completely different story.  I actually think I had just gotten back from picking berries at the berry farm and he was sitting under me and I dropped one.  He played with it for a bit until he figured out that he could eat it.  I guess my youngest, Eomer, just picked up on what Theoden was doing and since then has joined in with the healthy snacks.  Eomer actually prefers to play with his food first and then eat it, so it takes him a little bit to eat a baby carrot.  Unlike Theoden who can down in really quick.

I checked with my vet and she said that those were really great treats to give them instead of dog bones 🙂  She also told me that her dog would eat whole apples and eat around the core, crazy.

Back to the recipe at hand.  I baked up these little bad boys last night and when they had finally cooled and woke up my little babies and had them taste test one.  They LOVED them.  Eomer was wagging his tail like crazy when he was eating his, and Theoden’s little nub was going at a slower pace.  After they finished they started to sniff around to see if they could find more, and then tried to do the Jedi mind trick on me but I resisted.

I used a small teaspoon cookie scoop to measure these out and ended up with 42 cookies.  Since I have two small ones (under 25 lbs) I just split the treat in half and give them that way so that they don’t eat too much.  Sorry for the blurry picture.  For some reason my camera didn’t like the cookies but the dogs did 🙂

Pumpkin Drop Cookies – Veganized for the Pups by Pastrybrush

Source: You Bake’em Dog Biscuits Cookbook by Janine Adams

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp applesauce

2/4 cup solid-pack pumpkin (canned pumpkin)

1 tbsp molasses

1/2 cup water

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

Combine all ingredeints in a large bowl and mix together to a cookie-dough-like consistency.  Drop by the teaspoonful, 1 inch apart, onto a greased baking sheet.  Bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until cookies are firm.  For harder cookies, turn off the oven and let the cookies cool in the oven for 1 to 2 hours or overnight.  Store in the refrigerator in an airtight container.  Treats can be frozen for up to a month.

***Yes, they are names after Lord of The Rings characters.  I also have two other minature schnauzers that live with my parents that I named Merry and Pippin 🙂 ***

 

Leave a Reply

