When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Spiced Cranberry Bundt Cake October 20, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cake — pastrybrush @ 3:48 pm
Tags: , , , ,

When I received the November 2008 issue of Bon Appetite, I was instantly pulled in by the recipe for a Spiced Cranberry Bundt Cake.  Not until later when I actually sat down and read the magazine did I realize that the recipe was from Dorie Greenspan, along with the accompanying article.  I guess I don’t pay too much attention when I am reading sometimes because come to find out that Dorie is actually doing a three part write up for Bon Appetite amply named The Baker.  This being the second part.  The first part was a Bacon Cheddar Quick Bread with Dried Pears.   I will have to try that recipe when I am craving a savory quick bread.

I have been looking for a chance to use the rest of my dried cranberries and the frozen ones that are in my fridge.  The only extra ingredient that I had to buy was the Chinese Five Spice Powder, which I have always actually wanted to use for awhile but was afraid to make anything with it.  When I opened up the spice I was reminded of home because of the anise in it.  I was going to buy almond meal for the recipe but it was too expensive so I decided to grind my own almonds because for the amount that I needed it wasn’t worth spending $11.99 for a whole bag of almond meal.  For the toasted almonds I placed some of the almonds in a dry saute pan over medium heat until they were fragrant and a little brown.   Make sure to watch the almonds so that do not burn.

The Spiced Cranberry Bundt Cake batter was very thick, and tasted fantastic and it wasn’t even baked yet.  The bake time was exactly what Dorie said it was 1 hour and 10 minutes.  I let the cake cool, and then applied the glaze.  The glaze didn’t turn out as white as it did in the picture that was presented in the magazine, which is funny since I even made the glaze thicker than the recipe called for.  The cake tasted really good; the crumb was nice but the cake was thick.  I was hoping that the anise flavor would have been more prominent in the cake along with the cranberry flavor.  I guess next time I will add a few more cranberries and maybe a little more spice.

For the recipe just click on the following link: Spiced Cranberry Bundt Cake.

 

One Response to “Spiced Cranberry Bundt Cake”

  1. Barbara Says:

    I just noticed this recipe too! Thanks for the review. I suspect I’ll be making it soon.


Leave a Reply

