When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Rugelach November 4, 2008

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie recipe was chosen by Piggy of Piggy’s Cooking Journal.  She chose Rugelach which is located on pages 150-151 in Dorie Greenspans book, Baking: From My Home to YoursRugelach is a Jewish Pastry that usually has cream cheese in the dough and can be filled with a variety of ingredients.  It is then rolled up into a crecent shape.  When I saw this recipe I was immediately reminded of an Italian cookie that I have made called a Butter Horn; whose filling is cinnamon sugar and walnuts.

I was skeptical about using the fillings that Dorie recommended for the recipe because I really didn’t know how raspberry jam, cinnamon sugar, dried currants, pecans, and chocolate would taste.  I contemplated doing half of the cookies with cinnamon sugar and walnuts, and the other half by the recipe.  But in the end I decided to follow the recipe.

100_1605There was one part of the recipe that I decided not to follow.  Dorie said to use cold butter and cream cheese that has sat out for 10 minutes, and then use a food processor.  I currently do not have a food processor in my possession and it seemed odd to me that I wasn’t creaming the butter and cream cheese together since that is what I do for the butter horns.  I decided to not pay attention to dorie for this one instance.  Well I actually do that a lot.  Sorry Dorie.  I ended up bring the butter and cream cheese to room temperature and then creaming them together and added the flour and salt in.  The dough came together very nicely.  It was a bit sticky but not too bad.  I followed the rest of the directions as written and the Rugelach turned out great.

The taste was different to me.  It had a nice flavor to it, but I wasn’t so sure about the chocolate.  Granted I did decide to use chocolate chips instead of chopped up chocolate, and I didn’t use minis.  I guess if I would have used minis it would have distributed the flavor more evenly, but I still am not to sure.  I think I will stick to cinnamon sugar and walnuts next time.

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Rugelach”

  1. Karen Says:

    They look great! Sometimes following your instincts works to your advantage like creaming the butter and cream cheese! Great job!

  2. Beth Says:

    I’m a fellow TWD baker, and I was thinking that it would be nice if we all could chip in and get Laurie some small token/gift for all the work she does. Would you be willing to contribute? If I can get enough people, it would only be about $1 per person. No pressure 🙂 Let me know! bethberg12@yahoo.com

  3. Caitlin Says:

    I liked using the minis, because you got a little pop of chocolate every once in a while. Nice change given the lack of food processor (which Dorie seems to use all the time). Your rugelach look like they turned out perfectly 🙂

  4. Jules Says:

    Those look so yummy! And I used chopped chocolate. I think minis would have been just fine.


Leave a Reply

