When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Birthday Desserts #2 November 10, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cupcakes — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

100_1589On November 3rd, it was my mother’s birthday and I offered to make her a cake since she was going to be in the area.  I told her to think about what flavor she wanted and to get back to me.  A week passed and I still hadn’t heard from her so I called her up and asked if she had come up with anything.  She said that since I had been making a lot of cupcakes lately that those sounded good.  Now I love the vegan cupcakes that I make; there is nothing wrong with any of them.  But I gave my mother a disclaimer and asked did she really want a vegan cupcake.  I think I said it because I wanted to make something that I hadn’t made before.  She said she still wanted cupcakes I just had to figure out what to make her.  I looked through my Cupcakes cookbook and gave her an option of three different cupcakes: Boston Cream Pie Cupcake, Chocolate Covered Mint Meltaway Cupcake, and Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting.  She told me to make a cupcake that I had all the ingredients for.  I was looking for something that wasn’t too complicated and that was easy to transport 3 hours.

I have been really wanting to make the Chocolate Covered Mint Meltaway Cupcakes for the longest time, but the bad thing is the recipe takes 27 oz of chocolate and the patience to actually cover all 12 giant cupcakes in chocolate.  I am such a perfectionist that you know I would have gotten frustrated and a cupcake would have gottne thrown somewhere it wasn’t supposed to go…against a wall.  I have already made the pumpkin cupcakes and already know that they are FANTASTIC.  One day I will post about them.  I have been saying that for awhile, but I promise I will 🙂  The only option left was the Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes.  I found it funny that I had already made a vegan version of this cupcake.

i went with it.  The recipe said it was suppose to make 12 large cupcakes.  I actually ended up with 9.  Which struck me as odd about the cake portion of the recipe is that there was no fat in the recipe; no butter, oil or anything.  The cake part turned out nice.  It was very dense and yummy.  The pastry cream was okay, but i have had better.  The chocolate glaze was great.  I ended up not even using half of the pastry cream and only half of the chocolate glaze.  With the extra whipped cream I had left over from the key lime pie I have been foldind the whipped cream into the pastry cream to lighten it and then add a chunk of chocolate glaze (texture of a chocolate truffle) and just eating that for dessert.  It is so yummy and to die for 🙂

Okay, back to the cupcake.  They turned out really good.  I was disappointed that the cupcakes didn’t rise a little bit more in the cups, but it isn’t like you can tell since you take the cupcake liner off to fill and frost them anyways.  Everyone loved the cupcakes and my brother even ate two in a row.  By the time I had gotten back to my apartment 3 hours later all 9 large cupcakes were gone.  So I guess you can say they were a hit 🙂

Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

Source: Cupcakes by Elinor Klivans

Filling

1 1/2 cups whole milk

1/2 cup sugar

4 large egg yolks

3 tbsp unbleached all-purpose flour

1 tsp vanilla extract

Cupcakes

2/3 cup whole milk

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

4 large eggs

1 1/3 cup sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

Topping

3/4 cup Chocolate Glaze (recipe below), at a thick and spreadable consistency (peanut butter like)

Make the filling.  In a medium sauce pan, heat hte milk over low heat, just until it is hot; it should measure about 150°F on a thermomenter.  Remove from the heat.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk the sugar and egg yolks until smooth.  Whisk in the flour until smooth.  Whisking constantly, slowly pour the hot milk into the yolk mixture, then pour through a fine strainer back into the sauce pan.  Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, until it thickens and just comes to a boil; stir often where the bottom and sides of the pan meet to prevent scorching.  Reduce the heat to low and cook at a gentle boil for 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Remove the pan from the heat and sir in the vanilla.  Press a piece of plastic wrap onto the surface of the past cream and use the tip of a knife to poke a few holes in the plastic wrap to let steam escape.  Refrigerate for 2 hours, or until cool to the touch and thickened further.

Make the cupcakes.  Position a rack in the middle of the oven.  Preheat the oven to 350°F.  LIne 12 extra large muffin tin cups with large paper cupcake liners.  Spray the paper liners with nonstick cooking spray.

In a medium saucepan, heat the milk over low heat just until it is hot; it should measure about 150°F on a thermometer.  Remove from the heat.

Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt into a medium bowl and set aside.  In a large bowl, using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat the eggs and sugar until thickened and lighteneed to a cream color, about 3 minutes.  Stop the mixer and scrapte the sides of the bowl as needed during mixing.  Mix in the vanilla.  On low speed, mix in the flour mixture until it is incorporated.  Slowly add the hot milk and continue mixing for about 30 seconds, until the batter is smooth; the batter will be thin.

Fill each paper liner with a scant 1/2 cup of batter (I used about 3/4 cup of batter), to about 5/8 inch below the top of the liner.  Bake just until the tops feel firm and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 16 minutes (ended up being 22 minutes for me).  Cool cupcakes for 10 minutes in the pan on a wire rack, then remove from the pan to cool completely.

Fill the cupcakes.  remove the paper liners from the cupcakes.  Use a serrated knife to slice the top (about a 1/4 inch thick slice) off each cupcake; set the tops aside.  Cut a cone-shaped piece, about 1 inch across and 1 inch deep, out of the middle of each cupcake.  Discard (or eat) the little pieces.  Spoon (or pipe) about 1 1/2 tbsp of cold pastry cream int he hole of each cupcake.  Replace the cupcake tops.

Frost the cupcakes.  Using a thin metal spatula spread 1 tbsp of the chocolate glaze over each cupcake top, and replace them on top fo the cupcakes.  Serve, or cover and refrigerate to serve cold.

The cupcakes can be refrigerated for up to 2 days.

Chocolate Glaze

Makes 2 cups

1 cup Heavy Whipping Cream

2 tbsp unslated butter, cut into 2 pieces

3 tbsp light corn syrup

9 oz semisweet chocoalte chips

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

In a medium saucepan, heat the cream, butter, and corn syrup over low heat until the cream is hot and the butter had melted.  The mixture should form tiny bubbles and measure about 175°F on a thermometer; do not let it boil.  Remove the pan from the heat, add the chocolate chips, and let them sit in teh hot cream for about 30 seconds to soften.  Add the vanilla and whisk the sauce utnil it is smooth and all of the chocolate has melted.

Let it sit at room temperature until it reaches the thickness desired.  To store it, pour the cooled sauce into a small bowl, cover, and refrigerate for up to 2 weeks.

 

One Response to “Birthday Desserts #2”

  1. Bethany Says:

    I love filled cupcakes. Not that much extra effort, but it’s good to let people think there is 🙂

    I’ve made “boston vs. brooklyn creme pie cupcakes from vegan cupcakes take over the world” twice now. They came out great. The second time I put a piece of banana in each one. Even better.

    Last week I made jelly donut cupcakes from the same book. Yum.


Leave a Reply

