When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Chicken Tortilla Soup November 12, 2008

Filed under: Soup — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

100_1597One of my favorite soups in the world is Chicken Tortilla and not the stuff from a can.  The homemade variety that I use to get all the time when I was home back in Texas.  I would go to a local Mexican Restaurant and order it and it always came with a side of Mexican rice, pico de gallo, sliced avocado, cilantro, and fresh tortillas.

FRESH!!! FRESH I TELL YOU FRESH!!!

I say fresh because the area that I live in now on the east coast, I have never once seen a fresh tortilla.  NEVER.  Back home if you ordered tortillas it was all the tortillas you could dream of and they were fresh, made in house, and AWESOME.  Here they only give you two and if you want extra you have to pay for them and don’t get me started on the crappy fajitas here.   They are all onions and peppers hardly any meat and if you do find some it is a crap shriveled up piece.  I refuse to go to a Mexican Restaurant here and order fajitas because they are crap and when people say they are good I tell them they are crazy and need to come to Texas 🙂  I have reverted to making my own fresh tortillas with lard and 100_1599everything.  They are very tasty and remind me of home.

Back to the soup.  A lot of ingredients go into the soup, but back in 2000 when I first move to the East Coast my mom mailed me some tortilla soup mix and it can battle the fresh homemade stuff from back home.  The mix is from Tuldys.  Essentially all you have to do is add 7 cups of water (I usually add 9 cups) to the mix with a can of corn, a can of Rotell (tomatoes with green chiles), 3 chicken breasts on the bone with skin, and if you are me some yellow squash and mushrooms.  Let this cook in a pot covered until the chicken is cooked through.  Remove the chicken from the pot and cool until easy to handle.  Remove the meat from the bone and add it back into the pot.  The it is done.  I like to serve mine over Mexican Rice with slices of fresh avocado, shredded mozzeralla cheese, and tortillas strips (or crushed tortilla chips if you are lazy like me).

If you love Tortilla Soup the mix is a must buy.  You will not regret it and it is only $5.50 for one, which is crazy cheap considering how much soup it makes 🙂  Happy eating.

 

Leave a Reply

