When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Adventures in Wilton Cake Decorating Course 1 Class 2 November 13, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Course 1,Wilton Cake Decorating — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am

100_1614On Tuesday I had my second Wilton class, and I had to bring an iced 8-inch round cake or a character cake.  I decided to go with the 8-inch cake which would eventually turn into a rainbow cake.  I wanted to change the colors on the rainbow or do something completely strange to the cake, but I decided to stay with the design so that I would have something to compare to.

I really only had two mishaps during this entire process of making a cake and icing it.  I decided that I was only going to use box cake mix because it is more cost effective.  I looked up on Wilton.com how much batter that I would need to put into my 8 x 3-inch round cake pan and it said 5 cups and gave the baking temperature and time.  I followed the directions and mixed the cake mix together, preheated the oven, and put the cake in.  When it came to the 55 minutes mark, I took the cake out and checked to see if it was done.  It had pulled away from the sides but the inside wasn’t completely cooked.  I decided to put it in the oven for 10 more minutes, still wasn’t done.  I tried for 15 more, and it finally came out done.  I inverted the cake and….

IT FELL APART all over the table 😦

100_1619I was not a happy camper.  I left the apartment for a bit to calm down.  When I got back I decided that I didn’t want to mess with box cake mix so I made a cake from scratch.  I had just enough cake flour and everything.  In the end the cake worked out.  It was a denser cake with a finer crumb.  I was very happy how it turned out and it actually made an 8-inch and a 6-inch, so now I have a cake already baked for next weeks class.  I let the cake cool and then divided it into thirds and filled it with a raspberry mousse.  I applied a crumb coat of icing and then came back and iced the rest of the cake.  That was problems two: icing the cake.  I always want it to be perfect, which is impossible.  I spent 30 minutes to an hour trying to get the top level and the sides smooth.  Which I did a pretty good job of, but I am still not happy with.

I would have to say that class went pretty smoothly and the rainbow cake that I decorated turned out okay.  This is my first time decorating a cake and I found that I was more organized than anyone else in my class.  I guess I am extremely anal because I planned out everything for my cake all last week and everything that I needed to do and what to bring to class.  Lets just say that I had my icing already in bags with the correct tips; meaning that I bought multiples of certain tips.  I looked through the class book and calculated how many of each tip I needed for the class.  I did this because there is nowhere to clean or rinse off our pastry tips.  So I made sure that I would have everything that I needed, and I did.  My rainbow wasn’t completely centered but it looked good, and the inscription well that was a little off but I knew my greatest challenge would be writing 🙂 I decided to write PIE on my cake because it was funny.  I am weird like that.

I have chosen not to picture the whole cake because well it just looked weird with PIE on it.  It wasn’t that it said PIE it was that PIE was so big it made the cake look weird.  That is one thing I am really hoping to gain from this course; the ability to write on a cake and it actually look good.  It is like trying to draw a picture on your computer using only your mouse; sometimes it feels like it is impossible to just draw a straight line.

Next week is creepy clowns, but we were told that we can do a drop flower cake instead.  I have opted to do the drop flowers because I really don’t want to take a cake with two creepy clowns home.

 

8 Responses to “Adventures in Wilton Cake Decorating Course 1 Class 2”

  1. DrFaulken Says:

    When I first saw the picture, I was wondering where “PIE” was 🙂 I thought the cake looked great, and while it was a little dry it was still very tasty.

    Don’t worry about the little mishaps, this is why you are taking the practice class! I think it’s awesome.

  2. roclar Says:

    *inserts a clamour for PIE pictures*

    The rainbow looks really good!

  3. Bethany Says:

    I want to see the whole cake, PIE and all.

    I think you should do a clown cake. Clowns are scary and it’s a way to extend Halloween. Though, like you said, I wouldn’t want a clown cake in my house. Especially if you kept it under your bed. Poltergeist nightmares starting…

  4. Sal Says:

    That cake is awesome!

  5. RIC-Girl Says:

    I am so thankful that I found your blog! I signed up for Class 1, and went to my first class last week. Great suggestion about purchasing additional tips. Wonderful advice!

  6. Cydney Says:

    Thank you so much for creating this website!!!

    I just started my first “Wilton Cake Decorating” class last week at “Michaels” craft stores in New Jersey.

    I hate this cake, think it is ugly 😦
    But I can see why they want us to try this one….the repeat patterns.
    I also bought the 3 x 8 cake pan.
    DO I NEED TO MAKE EXTRA “Box-Cake” Mix for this?

    The class breezes by in 2 hours!
    The real work seems to be ALL the planning for the next class at home?
    (i am like you ~ a plan-ahead girl)

    I will buy the extra tips ~ GREAT IDEA! thanks.
    If you have any more suggestions, please post them.

    Thanks, my “Rainbow Cake” class is Thursday 1/14/10
    Great website!
    All best wishes,
    Cydney

  7. Cydney Says:

    Opps!
    Forgot to include this IMPORTANT “Tip”….

    the 3x 8 pan calls for 5 CUPS of batter.

    My instructor, said she ONLY uses “Duncan Hines” box mix:
    Because, it is only “Box Cake Mix” that gives you 5 Cups!
    she tried ALL others and gets the “TRUE 5 CUPS” needed from D.H.

    Hope this TIP helps you fellow cake artists.

    Happy Baking,
    Cydney

    • pastrybrush Says:

      I hope the class goes well for you. I really didn’t like doing that cake either. I heard that some instructors allowed their class to make their own patterns with cookie cutters. That actually would have been so much better 🙂
      If you have any more questions just ask.


Leave a Reply

