When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Arborio Rice Pudding November 18, 2008

Filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags:

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Isabelle of Les gourmandises d’Isa.  She chose Dorie’s Arborio Rice Pudding (white, black, or both) which is located on pages 412-413 in Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours. When I saw that we were doing rice pudding I was a little skeptical because I have only ever made one type of rice pudding.  It is what my mom made me as a kid and what I still make to this day.  I found that every time I was home my brother would ask me to make him rice pudding and more than likely a sandwich.  Rice pudding I would make because I liked it too.  Now the sandwich was another story; I more than likely told him to make that himself 🙂  Every time I made it he would eat all of it as soon as it came off the stove; leaving none for the rest of the family.

100_1620The flavor of Dorie’s Rice Pudding reminded me of the one that I would make as a kid.  Unfortunately this week I have no been paying attention to the message board on Tuesdays With Dorie and completely missed that Dorie wrote a comment the other day saying that there was a typo and that the rice was suppose to cook in the milk for 55 minutes and not 30 minutes, pooper.  Yes, mine turned out a little liquidy but it tasted good so I was happy with it.

Dorie’s recipe is different in its execution than my family recipe, but the same flavor.  I have decided to include the recipe that I always cook below.  You are going to dirty an extra pot because you cook the rice in one and the pudding in another, but it is okay.  It will still taste fantastic.

Rice Pudding

Source: My Mother

1 cup uncooked rice

2 cups water

2/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup cornstarch

2 cups milk

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp butter

In a medium saucepan bring the 2 cups of water to a boil.  Add the rice to the water, turn down the heat to low, and cover the saucepan.  Let the rice cook for 15-20 minutes, until done.  Set aside.

In a medium saucepan over medium heat combine the sugar, cornstarch and milk.  Bring the mixture to a rolling boil, while stirring constantly.  Boil for 1 minute, this will allow the mixture to thicken more and make sure that there is not a cornstarch flavor to the pudding.  Remove from the heat, add butter and vanilla and mix until butter melts.  Finally add all the cooked rice to the pudding, and mix to combine.  Serve either warm or cold.

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Arborio Rice Pudding”

  1. Jules Says:

    Glad it at least tasted good! It’s nice you have your tried and true recipe as well.

  2. Kimberly Says:

    It still looks yummy even if it’s a little wet!

  3. Caitlin Says:

    Taste is what really matters, right? 🙂 Nice job.

  4. pinkstripes Says:

    At least it tasted good!

  5. Linda Says:

    Thanks for sharing your mom’s recipe…i think dorie’s recipe was missing a thickener (you mom’s has cornstarch, my fav recipe uses eggs). still, glad to hear that you ended up a something that tasted good!


Leave a Reply

