When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

My little Monkey turned 4 :) November 19, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Dog Treats,Muffins — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,
Theoden when he was 9 wks old

Theoden when he was 9 wks old

It was my first child’s birthday on Monday.  He turned four years old.  I can’t believe it has been four years.  I remember the day when I was talking to one of my friends and she mentioned that she was going to breed her first Miniature Schnauzer Sadie.  Right then I told her that if she did I would want one of the puppies 🙂  Theoden was in her first litter and she hasn’t stopped breeding beautiful Miniature Schnauzers.  I ended up getting my second child from her almost two years later.

Theoden was the sweetest baby ever.  I remember putting him in my jacket and walking around campus with him.  He is the only Miniature Schnauzer that I have ever had that loves everyone, and doesn’t bark (very much).  He started to bark a little once I got his brother, Eomer.  Eomer is very vocal and a trouble maker, but a huge cuddle monster.

)

Theoden now 🙂

If you are a nerd like me you have noticed that my children are named after Lord of the Rings characters.  I also have two other Miniature Schnauzer that are with my parents and they are named after the Hobbits Mery and Pippin.  I lay claim to Pippin or Peregrin Took IV as the AKC likes to call him.  I guess I haven’t been the only LOTR fan that has registered her pups with the AKC 🙂

Back to Theoden’s Birthday.  I decided that I would try to make him another treat  out of You Bake’em Dog Biscuits Cookbook by Janine Adams.  I ended up deciding on the Peanut Butter Banana Muffins.  I made the muffins in mini form since my pups are small.  The recipe ended up making 36 mini muffins. The muffins were a hit and the pups just munch them down.

Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

100_1631

Source: You Bake’em Dog Biscuits Cookbook by Janine Adams

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tbsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup natural peanut butter

1 egg

3/4 cup milk

1 banana

3 tbsp oil

1/4 cup honey or molasses

Preheat the oven to 400°F.  Line the cups of a mini-mufin tin with papper cups or spray them with oil.

In a large bowl, mix together the dry ingredients and set aside.  Blend the peanut butter, egg, and milk together in a food processor.  Add the banana and the oil and molasses.  Mix until well blended.  Fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients using a spoon or spatula.  Mix just until the dry ingredients are incorporated.  Spoon the mixture into the muffin pan, filling each cup about 3/4 full.  Bake for 15 minutes or until the tops are brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Store at room temperature in an airtight container for up to three days.

 

One Response to “My little Monkey turned 4 :)”

  1. DrFaulken Says:

    Happy birthday, Little Lieutenant!


Leave a Reply

