When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Kugelhopf Bread Pudding November 21, 2008

Filed under: Baking — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

Yeah.

That’s right.

My Kugelhopf sat on the counter for almost a week and I kept meaning to make French toast with it.

Jump to 2:40am Wednesday.

I haven’t had bread pudding in awhile and I miss it.  I had all the ingredients and figured to go for it.  Little did i know that it had to bake for 1 hour and 30 minutes and that I would fall asleep on the couch and wake up to the oven beeping at me at 4 in the morning.

I decided to make the Bourbon Sauce in the morning once I had gotten more sleep.

For the Bourbon Sauce I had to do things a little bit different than the recipe since 1) I didn’t have the Bourbon that I liked to use so Jack Daniels was substituted, 2) I think there is way too much in the recipe so I reduced the amount to 1/4 cup, 3) I add the bourbon before the egg gets added so that some of the alcohol can burn off and your guests don’t get too loopy from the sauce, and 4) I didn’t add the raisins since I already had raisins that were soaked in Cointreau in the Kugelhopf 🙂

The Bread Pudding turned out FANTASTIC.

100_1663Louisiana Bread Pudding with Bourbon Sauce

Source: Debra F. Weber, Your Guide to French Cuisine

7 oz very stale French Bread, cut into cubes I used Kugelhopf

4 cups whole milk

3 egss

1 1/3 cup sugar

2 tbsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup Cointreau

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 tbsp freshly ground nutmeg

1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar

12 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into cubes I only used 4 tbsp

For the Bourbon Sauce

8 tbsp unsalted butter

1 cup confectioners’ sugar

1 egg, beaten

1/2 cup bourbon  I used 1/4 cup

Place the bread in a large bowl and pour the milk over it.  Allow to soak for 1 hour.  Put the raisins in a smaller bowl and pour the cointreau over them.  Allow to soak for at least one hour

Butter an 8″ x 11″ baking pan.  Preheat the oven to 300°F

Whisk together the eggs, sugar and vanilla.  Drain the raisins and add them to the soaked bread.  Pour the egg/sugar mixture into the bread and mix well.  Pour into the prepared pan and smooth the top with the back of a spoon.  Sprinkle with Cinnamon, nutmeg, and the dark brown sugar.  Dot with the butter cubes.  Place in the preheated oven and back about 1.5 hours until set.  Allow to cool at least for 30 minutes before cutting

For the Sauce

Melt the butter over low heat.  When it is hot, but not colored, add the confectioners’ sugar and whisk constantly until thick.  When it is very thick and hot, remove from the heat and whisk in the beaten egg until emulsified, about 2 minutes.  Whisk in the bourbon and serve warm.

 

Leave a Reply

