When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Thanksgiving Twofer Pie November 25, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Pie,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 1:47 am
Tags: ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Vibi of La casserole carrée.  She chose Dorie’s Thanksgiving Twofer Pie which is located on page 321 of Baking: From My Home to Yours. I was actually really excited to make this recipe because I love pumpkin and pecan pie and putting them together is a fantastic idea.

I ended up making the pie Monday, but I actually haven’t tried it yet.  By the time I finally got around to finishing it.  It still needed to cool.  I was surprised that the directions said to use a partially baked crust.  I followed Dorie’s directions exactly and I think that the crust baked a little too long.  I ended up having to cover the edge of the pie with foil so that it did not burn when it was baking in the oven.  I like how when I put my pie in the oven the crust looks perfect and then when it comes out it is just blah.

I guess I have been having one of those baking days where everything seems to go wrong.  In the middle of baking my pie this week, I was also icing my cake for my finally Wilton Course 1 class.  Lets just say that things weren’t going well and I took my frustration out on the cake with the spatula.

Picture a 10-inch offset spatula sticking out of the middle of my cake.  Yeah I shouldn’t have done it but after almost 2 hours of trying to ice the cake perfect; it just wasn’t happening.

FYI I am a perfectionist, so the average person might say it looks fantastic but I see the flaws in it 😦  I have fixed the cake and I am going to try to ice it again later today and hope I can keep my frustration to a minimum.

The pie turned out good.  I added some extra spiced into the pumpkin mixture that remind me of a pumpkin pie: allspice, nutmeg, and cloves.  I think I should have baked it for a couple of minutes longer.  The pie tasted good.  It did remind me of a cross between a pumpkin and pecan pie.  I don’t know if I would ever make it again.  I love pumpkin and pecan pie.  I guess that when I want one I just want that one and not the other.  I think today was a pecan day.  Tomorrow might be a pumpkin.  You never know 🙂

100_1677

 

6 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Thanksgiving Twofer Pie”

  1. Jules Says:

    Oh no! Cake murder! Can I tell ya that I have totally been there. Let us know how the pie turns out. And good luck with the cake.

  2. Vibi Says:

    I am really curious as how you are going to find the pie… but in the meantime, I thank you very much for participating with me this week!
    A very happy Thanksgiving to you and your family! …go, go, go… empty that fridge! LOL LOL

  3. Caitlin Says:

    I’ve come close to that, whenever crumbs decide to invade my icing attempts 🙂 Hopefully the pie is more successful.

  4. pinkstripes Says:

    Sorry about your cake!

    I loved the twofer and can’t wait to hear what you thought about it.

  5. pastrybrush Says:

    I finished icing the cake and it looks a lot better. You can’t even tell I stabbed it with a spatula 🙂 I am planning on digging into the pie later today. I will keep everyone updated and amend my post.

  6. Kimberly Says:

    Your pie looks great and I’m sure it will taste fantastic! Hope you like it!


Leave a Reply

