When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Linzer Sables and Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies December 9, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 1:50 am
Tags: , ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis week I am playing catch up with Tuesdays with Dorie.  I have been baking so many cookies it isn’t funny.  Sometimes it is stressful but other times it just gives me something to do instead of being bored 🙂

Last weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Noskos of Living the Life, he chose Dorie’s Linzer Sables located on pages 134-135 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. For the recipe I ended up using walnuts as the nut since I was grinding up a bunch to make my Mom’s Butter Ball cookies.  I also ended up using the raspberry jam, which ended up being seedless so I was a little disappointed.  Don’t ask me why but I like seeds in my jam 🙂

100_1711I had some problems with the dough at first.  I followed Dorie’s directions with regard to rolling the dough out between two sheets of wax paper and then putting it in the fridge.  It really did help with transfering them to the cookie sheet, but my problem was that I rolled the dough to thin.  As a result the dough would warm up quicker and it was harder for me to pull it away from the paper.  So the next time I put a little flour on the wax paper and rolled the dough a bit thicker and it worked out perfectly.  The cookies were very good.  I think next time I will go to the store and get the raspberry jam that I prefer because I think it will boost the flavor more.

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Ulrike of Küchenlatein, she chose Dorie’s Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies located on pages 146-147.  For these cookies I knew right away that I wasn’t going to decorate them.

Why?

100_1741Because of the cookie load that is taking up my entire fridge and freezer.  Also because I have to decorate anise cookies and I am starting my Wilton Course 2 class today 🙂

Instead I decided to form them into a log and roll them in green sanding sugar.  I have so many different containers of sugar it isn’t even funny.  This gave me a reason to get rid of some of it, and make the cookies look prettier in the process.  For the cookies, I decided to use orange zest in the dough to give it a nice orange flavor.  These cookies turned out perfect.  They weren’t too sweet and there was a subtle orange flavor that was nice.

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Linzer Sables and Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies”

  1. Jules Says:

    I rolled my logs in pink! Nice job on the cookies.

  2. Amanda Says:

    I agree, this was a fabulous recipe!

  3. Jodie Says:

    Love the green sugar. Great job!

  4. Kristin Says:

    Love the orange zest addition – I bet that tasted great! Nice cookies!

  5. Di Says:

    Nice job on both cookies! I love the green sugar on the edges of the sugar cookies.


Leave a Reply

