When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Real Butterscotch Pudding December 23, 2008

Filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags:

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie recipe was chosen by Donna of Spatulas, Corkscrews & Suitcases.  She chose Dorie’s Real Butterscotch Pudding, which is located on page 386 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. I was very intrigued when I saw that we were going to make this recipe.  All I could think was what is REAL butterscotch pudding.  I guess since the only thing that I am used to is the store bought boxes of jello pudding which I LOVE.  I guess you could say I love anything butterscotch 🙂

While reading through the recipe I noticed that Dorie uses a food processor.  Having made pudding before I knew that I really didn’t need to use a food processor, which I don’t own anyways.  I just made the pudding the only way I knew how, without a food processor.  Instead of using it to mix together the cornstarch, salt, egg yolks, and sugar; I just used a bowl and a whisk 🙂  Same thing with tempering the eggs and it worked out perfectly.

100_1791I had one problem, the scotch.  My PapPap gave me a liter of 12 year Glenlivet about 4 years which he had had for I don’t know how long.  I didn’t want to use the bottle.  I guess it reminded me of the time that my PapPap wasn’t sick and could still drink.  When my brother and I were kids, PapPap would have his daily Manhattan and always give us a cherry from the jar when he was making it.  My brother swears he got one out of PapPap’s glass, but I don’t really believe him because that would have been a STRONG cherry.

I decided to open the bottle since it was the only single malt scotch that I had in the apartment.  I broke the seal pulled the top off and the cork fell apart.  It didn’t even come out of the bottle, so I tried to fish it out and ended up pushing it down into the scotch, grrr.  While trying to fish the cork out I probably dumped 1/2 cup of scotch down the sink.  Then I decided to be smart and got out a couple of glasses to pour the scotch out.  Once the bottle was empty, I got the cork out.  I rinsed the bottle out and poured the scotch back in and put a spare wine cork in it.  In the end, I had scotch on the counter and ended up with probably twice the amount of scotch in the pudding.

The pudding turned out fantastic even thought it was a little SCOTCHY 🙂

I served it with Cool Whip and a few butter pecans and it was perfect.

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Real Butterscotch Pudding”

  1. Spike Says:

    Looks good, glad to know I don’t have to use the food processor next time!

  2. Jules Says:

    Whew! And it thought it was boozy with 3 T. of scotch! Nice memory. I’m glad you shared it.

  3. Di Says:

    Your pudding looks yummy with the pecans on top. And thanks for sharing the memory. Hopefully the scotch won’t give you any trouble in the future. =)

  4. Jill Says:

    It looks delicious! For this recipe, the food processor was more trouble than it was worth, so you didn’t miss anything by not having one.


Leave a Reply

