When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Tall and Creamy Cheesecake December 30, 2008

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Anne of AnneStrawberry.  She chose Dorie’s Tall and Creamy Cheesecake which is located on pages 235-237 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. Right off the bat when I saw this recipe I knew that I was going to make a plan cheesecake with a raspberry sauce on top.  My plans changed when Maria, DrFaulken’s mom, presented me with a container of Guava Paste and told me that her brother use to make great guava cheesecake.

100_1836So began the research on how much guava paste to add.  I ended up searching all over the internet to find a recipe similar to Dorie’s so that the cheesecake would turn out okay.  I was a little skeptical since I have never had a guava or really know what it tastes like.  At first I was looking for a recipe that I could use all the paste in but then i realized that the container was 21 oz and that wasn’t going to happened. I finally found a recipe that was similar and decided to add approximately 12 oz of the paste to the cream cheese at the beginning of the recipe.  I also add the juice of half of a lime since most of the online recipes had either a little bit of lemon or lime juice in them.

100_1839The cheesecake turned out fantastic and the taste was awesome.  The only problem was cutting the damn thing.  The cheesecake was so creamy when you tried to pull your knife out the whole insides of the cheesecake would be stuck to the knife.  I also think my crust was a little thin so next time I am going to make a thicker crust for the cheesecake and actually freeze the cheesecake before I slice into it so that it makes pretty slices and not crazy deformed slices 🙂

 

9 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Tall and Creamy Cheesecake”

  1. Leslie Says:

    Guava paste sounds awesome! I love guava and I bet it was delicious with the creaminess of the cheesecake!

  2. Christine Says:

    Wow your cheesecake looks delicious!

  3. Caitlin Says:

    Ooo – I love guava paste. So tasty, I bet it was wonderful in the cheesecake.

  4. susan in FL Says:

    Next time try cutting it with dental floss (not mint). that way you don’t have to worry about it sticking to the knife.

  5. drfaulken Says:

    That’s a cool idea, Susan.

    My mom will be happy to hear what you’ve done with the guava paste. I will be happy to finish whatever cheesecake is left 😉

  6. Jules Says:

    Looks lovely and delicious!

  7. Miss Liz Says:

    Hey Darling loved your christmas log I baked a fresh cheesecake for your mom and dad with fresh melba sauce wish you were here with us. I will cook for you next time you come down to Texas. Love and miss you always

  8. […] For the cheesecake, I just stuck with a Dorie recipe and did her Tall and Creamy Cheesecake (Previous Post).  I added a little bit of lemon zest to the base of the batter, baked it up, and then made a […]


Leave a Reply

