When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: French Pear Tart January 6, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Tarts,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

100_1860

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Dorie Greenspan, herself.  Dorie chose the French Pear Tart located on pages 368-369 in her book, Baking: From My Home to Yours. As soon as I saw this recipe I was very excited because although I do not like pears, I do like pear tarts.  I know I am weird.  I have no idea why I am like that 🙂

For this recipe I decided to make Dorie’s Sweet Dough for the crust.  I did not use a food processor to make it.  I just did it the old fashion way with my hands 🙂 The recipe calls for the dough to be partially baked.  When I made the Thanksgiving Twofer Pie I also had to partially bake the crust and it was cooked too much for me.  So this time I decided to only bake the shell for 15 minutes instead of the 25 minutes called for in the recipe.  For the Almond Cream I did not grind my own almonds since I already had almond meal on hand.  Also, I used both dark rum and vanilla extract and the flavor was spot on.  I guess if you wanted the tart to have more of an almond flavor you could add 1/2 tsp almond extract.  Once the shell was  cool I added the filling and the pears and baked the tart for another 55 minutes.  The crust ended up turning out great and it was cooked through.

The Almond Cream puffed up beautifully and was perfectly browned.  To finish the tart I melted some apple jelly and brushed it on while the tart was still a little warm.  Then I dusted powdered sugar around the sides.  The tart tasted fantastic.  For a second, I thought that it might be a little too sweet but the pears mellow out the sweetness.

 

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: French Pear Tart”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    Fantastic job on your tart!

  2. juju73 Says:

    Your tart is gorgeous!

  3. Jules Says:

    Looks lovely! I thought my crust was a little underdone. Ah well.

  4. pinkstripes Says:

    Oh, yum! Your tart looks great.

  5. carolina Says:

    I just found your blog. Your tart looks amazing. I took the Wilton Course 1. It went okay until my instructor flaked out on us. I then took a college course with an ex Wilton instructor doing her own thing. She was awesome, but we learned so much and I am out of practice. I am thinking about taking more classes. It is harder than it looks, right? Good Luck.

    • pastrybrush Says:

      Hey Carolina,
      I would say that if you have done some decorating before it makes it easier to understand some of the things in class. But I have been in class with ladies that have never made their own frosting let alone picked up a pastry bag and they have made some fantastic looking cakes. It just takes practice. I think the only thing so far that has frustrated me is piping a rose, but that takes time. Once you see how it is done and understand the technique it is pretty easy, but practice makes perfect 🙂


Leave a Reply

