When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Lamb and a Flan January 9, 2009

Filed under: Baked Custards,Main Courses — pastrybrush @ 3:41 pm
Tags: ,

The other day….by that I mean two weeks ago 🙂

I was talking to some friends about my favorite way to cook lamb.  Usually if I am cooking lamb it is a semi boneless leg of lamb.  Just thinking about it makes me hungry, yummy 🙂 For the past couple of years while making lamb I have used the simple recipe in Joy of Cooking for Roast Leg of Lamb (recipe at the bottom of the post).  It turns out perfectly every time.  I also only cook my lamb to medium rare and then take it out of the oven to sit for 10 minutes so that the juices can redistribute.  This also will bring the temp of the lamb up 5 more degrees 🙂  You can’t go wrong with this recipe and I urge everyone to try it at least once.

While talking to these friends I had brought over a flan that DrFaulken’s mom asked me to make.  I also brought over the Coffee Buttercream Yule Log and one of the French Yule Logs.  It is better to give food away then keep it in your apartment and try not to eat it all 🙂  I have made flan before from scratch and from the Goya box mix.  This time I wanted to make it from scratch and make it special.  The problem was is that I don’t have a go to Flan recipe, so I turned to my source for tres leches cake, Taste of Cuba.  They always have some pretty good recipes on there.  I took a look at the Flan and I knew it was the perfect recipe 🙂

While making the recipe I became confused because it only called for 1 1/2 cups of sugar for the entire recipe.  I finally figured out that there must have been a typing error.  So, for the recipe you need 3/4 cup of sugar for the caramel and 1 1/2 cups of sugar for the custard.  The flan turned out fantastic and everyone loved it.  The recipe gives you three different ways to cook the flan; I just cooked mine in the oven 🙂 To get the recipe cruise on over to Taste of Cuba, and remember my tip about the sugar.

Roast Leg of Lamb

Source: Joy of Cooking by Irma S. Rombauer, Marion Rombauer Becker, Ethan Becker

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Pat dry, trim, and prepare:
1 whole bone-in leg of lamb (7 to 8 pounds)
Combine in a small bowl:
1 Tbsp. black pepper
2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. finely minced fresh rosemary

Rub the wide end of the leg with half of the seasoning mixture. Add to the remaining seasoning mixture and toss to coat:
2 large garlic cloves, cut lengthwise into slivers or slices
Cut 15 to 20 evenly spaced slits in the roast, and insert the seasoned garlic slivers. Rub the surface of the roast with:
3 Tbsp. olive oil
Rub any remaining seasoning mixture over the roast, and arrange it meatier side up on a rack in a roasting pan. Place it in the oven and immediately reduce the oven temperature to 325 degrees. Roast until a thermometer inserted in the thickest part of the meat reads 140 degrees for medium-rare, or 160 degrees for medium, 1 1/4 to 1 3/4 hours (the temperature will rise about 5 degrees out of the oven). Remove from the oven, cover loosely with aluminum foil, and let stand for 15 to 20 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

