When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins January 13, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Muffins — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Rebecca of Ezra Pound Cake, she chose Dorie’s Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins.  I have to say everytime I would flip through Baking: From My Home to Yours, I would completely pass this recipe.  I don’t know if it had anything to do with it being savory or just because I usually don’t have a jalapeno hanging out in my fridge.  But whatever the reason was I should have seen this recipe sooner 🙂  These muffins were fantastic.

They reminded me of when I was a kid, and my parents would take me to this seafood restaurant back home (Daddy Did it).  They had the best hushpuppies in the WORLD.  The restaurant closed AWHILE ago, and I have miss those hushpuppies ever since and no other hushpuppy has come close, until….

100_1869This crazy muffin.  It pretty much hit the nail on the head even though the muffin wasn’t fried.

I followed the recipe exact, and these were perfect.  I wouldn’t change anything about them.  They weren’t spicy at all they just had a  nice heat to them.  So yummy 🙂  Cruise on over to Rebecca’s site or turn to page 6 in Dorie’s book if you want to experience a tasty muffin 🙂

 

9 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins”

  1. juju73 Says:

    Oh, my…..I LOVE hushpuppies. LOVE them. I’m a Carolina girl!

    I loved these muffins…now I am thinking I might have to do the full on flavor recipe…I did just the basic one.

    Your muffins look fantastic!!!! They are so colorful!!!!

  2. Karen Says:

    I am glad this recipe brought back such a great memory! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Jodie Says:

    Fun memory! Good job on the muffins!

  4. Amy Says:

    Funny you mention it, because the only ingredient I had to go out and buy in order to make these muffins…. the jalapeno. It added a great kick, though!

  5. pinkstripes Says:

    Your muffins look good. I’ve never had a hushpuppie. I’m sure they are delicious.

  6. DrFaulken Says:

    These muffins were so good I had to slap myself. Twice.

  7. deeba Says:

    I love all the TWDs that are popping on blogs with savoury muffins. Ooooh…they look SO GOOD!!

  8. Linda Says:

    I’m glad you liked these muffins…great job!!!

  9. Jules Says:

    Glad you enjoyed the muffins. Rarely do things ever taste as good as we remember.


Leave a Reply

