When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Adventures in Wilton Cake Decorating Course 3 Class 2 January 16, 2009

100_1874This week we finally had the chance to play with fondant.  It wasn’t too bad.  Granted this was my first time covering a cake in fondant, I didn’t have too much trouble.  I had a stretch mark on two corners, but nothing a strategically placed flower couldn’t fix.  I did have some trouble with my black fondant.  Since I added cocoa powder to my black fondant before I added black coloring to it; it actually dried it out a little so I had to keep added shortening to it :/

Oh well, it ended up turning out okay.  For the class, I bought the Wilton fondant but it tastes extremely gross.  I have decided that for my final cake and any other I have to cover with fondant; that I am going to make my own.  Also, it will make it easier to make black fondant since I will just make chocolate fondant instead of white 🙂

In class we started to learn how to make fondant roses, but we ran out of time and only learned up to the rose bud.  It is actually pretty easy and very pretty.  I can’t wait to learn how to actually finish it.

The actually cake is the Berry Surprise Cake for Tuesdays with Dorie next week.  I am not going to write anything about the taste of the cake, but just remember this I took the fondant off the cake and redecorated it to make it look pretty.  It will look different when I post on Tuesday, but it is the same cake 🙂  The fondant came off perfectly it was awesome.

 

One Response to “Adventures in Wilton Cake Decorating Course 3 Class 2”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Hi! Thank you so much for posting about all of your Wilton Classes. I am taking course 1 right now and it has been so great to read your blogs and then know what to expect! Your tips have been wonderful!
    I had googled “wilton cake decorating course1 class 1 blog” and your site was one of the results.
    Thanks again!! Goodluck with the rest of the classes!


Leave a Reply

