When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Fresh Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread January 27, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 12:40 pm
Tags: ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Heather of Sherry Trifle, she chose Dorie’s Fresh Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread which is located on page 212 of Baking: From My Home to Yours. This weeks recipe actually intrigued me.  I don’t think that I have ever had chocolate and ginger together in one dessert, but I might be mistaken.

Making this recipe was super easy and I actually didn’t have any problems.  I ended up baking the gingerbread in an 8x8x3 baking pan and it turned out fantastic.  I love the way my apartment smelled when it was baking.  While baking this I was also making three different types of Italian 100_1907Buttercream for my Wilton Course 3 Final cake.  Which is also the reason why I haven’t been posting that much this past week.  I have been trying to get all of the flowers, fondant, cake, and buttercream made that I haven’t had any real blogging time.  Sorry :/

Back to the ginger cake, I loved the cake portion but I wasn’t thrilled when the chocolate icing on top.  It was okay.  Maybe I already sugared myself out by making sure the flavors were right in the different buttercreams by the time I tried the ginger cake.  I will give it another try soon to see if I was just having an off chocolate day 🙂

Cruise on over to Heather’s site to pick up the recipe.

 

10 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Fresh Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread”

  1. Karen Says:

    Your cake looks delicious!! The frosting looks to die for!

  2. Jules Says:

    It really is a good cake. Yours looks lovely.

  3. pinkstripes Says:

    Your gingerbread looks gorgeous. YUM!

  4. engineerbaker Says:

    Well it looks wonderful, and you can always scrape off the chocolate icing 🙂

  5. Jill Says:

    I liked the icing, but the bakers seem to be divided on that subject. Yours looks like it turned out great!

  6. Megan Says:

    I haven’t made it to Wilton 3 yet – my daughter and I did Course 1 and then the Fondant / Gumpaste. So I can’t wait to see your final cake.

    Oh, and the gingerbread looks great!

  7. Karen Says:

    i preferred the cake without icing, it didn’t really need it in my opinion.

  8. Amanda Says:

    I loved the icing but I haven’t had a good buttercream icing cross my lips in a while – or fondant for that matter. Yours looks fluffy and just perfect!

  9. Amy Ruth Says:

    I love chocolate, I love gingerbread too. This crazy mixed up one has me all confused. I can’t decide if I like it or not. Probably would rather have some other totally worth the calories to my thighs dessert. ya know?
    Your gingerbread looks really good though.
    AmyRuth

  10. teaandscones Says:

    I decided to do with out the icing and it was just perfect. Yours looks yummy!!! Congrats on the Wilton course. Aren’t they fun?


Leave a Reply

