When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: World Peace Cookies February 3, 2009

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Jessica of cookbookhabit.  She chose Dorie’s World Peace Cookies which are located on pages 138-139 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. I have seen these cookies floating around the blogosphere for awhile now, and have always wondered what they tasted like.  For some reason I didn’t think they were chocolate.  Don’t ask me why it just didn’t occur to me until I started reading the recipe.

100_1936I was really close to not making this recipe this week because I was completely out of butter.  I ended up borrowing some from and friend and used some left over chocolate chips in the recipe.  Since I procrastinated I decided to form the cookies into balls instead of slice and bake.  I also changed the recipe a little.  Instead of sea salt, which I am currently out of, I used1/4 tsp of table salt.  For the cocoa powder I used half black cocoa powder and half regular unsweetened cocoa powder.  For the final change I added in 1 tsp of instant espresso powder.

The cookies turned out really cute, and I actually think they look better when you form them into little balls instead of the slice and bake.  The taste of the cookies was nice.  I would probably make them again if someone wanted and chocolate chocolate cookie, but for me I will just stick with regular chocolate chip cookies.  Oh, someone also suggested that I make sandwich cookies out of them and put icing in the center.  Something on the lines of a World Peace Oreo 🙂

 

11 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: World Peace Cookies”

  1. Karen Says:

    World peace oreas sound tempting! 🙂 Glad you made it work with improvising the ingredients.

  2. I love these cookies! They’re one of my faves. Yours turned out just great! Well done!

  3. Amanda Says:

    World peace oreo sounds wonderful! I followed it almost to a T, and felt they were very unique and definitely chocolate! (I too did not really realize how chocolate until I got going on the recipe.)

  4. juju73 Says:

    Nice job! I will add espresso powder next time I make these!

  5. Jules Says:

    Mmmm. I think I little peanut butter in the middle would be lovely. And really fattening.

  6. Ivette Says:

    Your cookies look great.. and I think that idea of adding espresso powder was probably a good thing to do! I
    thought mine were just a bit too sweet.. besides the fact that I’m not the greatest chocolate fan. I still thought they were good though.. hope you enjoyed your cookies.

  7. mike Says:

    Espresso powder – great idea!!! I’m going to try that next time. Yours look fantastic – glad you enjoyed them. They’re my new favorite cookies!

  8. Jill Says:

    They are cute! The oreo version sounds great.

  9. Jessica Says:

    World Peace Oreos – now that would be something. They look great!

  10. pinkstripes Says:

    Your WP cookies look great. I agree, they are cute!

  11. teaandscones Says:

    HHMMM!!! PB on the WP. Sounds good to me. Yours look yummy!


Leave a Reply

