When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Floating Islands February 10, 2009

Filed under: Sauces,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Shari of Whisk: a food blog. Shari chose Dorie’s Floating Islands located on pages 401-402 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. I have always thought of Floating Islands as something that I probably would never make eventhough I have made the parts (creme anglais, meringue, caramel).

For this weeks recipe, I had some problems.  I decided to make the creme anglais Sunday night and then make the “islands” on Monday and the serve.  While in the middle of making the creme anglais I wasn’t paying attention to 100_1939the temperature of the eggs and the curdled.  When I looked up why this happened, it occurred because the temperature of the eggs went above 180°F, which is a big NO NO.

Oh well, it tasted good but looked horrible.  I threw it out and decided that I would make the creme anglais early Monday morning to give it time to cool.  Also for my second go around I decided that I would half the recipe so that I wasn’t tempted to eat all of the “islands” and the “sea” 🙂

Even though I halved the recipe I still used 2 cups of milk so that there was enough liquid to poach the “islands” in.  I also decided not to make the caramel because I had homemade caramel sauce in the fridge that was perfect for the dessert and it turned out fantastic.  I loved the flavor of everything and it wasn’t heavy at all.

 

8 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Floating Islands”

  1. Jules Says:

    Looks delicious! I didn’t even try it.

  2. Lillian Says:

    I’m glad it worked out for you, even if it was on the second try. We didn’t like it here, and most of it looked terrible!

  3. pinkstripes Says:

    I’m glad you ended up like the floating islands.

  4. Shari Says:

    I’m glad it worked for you and that you even tried it a second time! They look perfect! Thanks for baking along with me this week!

  5. These look great…like real islands because you used more milk! I love them.

  6. Teanna Says:

    I’m glad you were able to make a new batch of anglaise! Your islands look great!

  7. Amy Ruth Says:

    They look so delicate and beautiful. Glad you liked them, I did too.
    AmyRuth

  8. Margaret Says:

    Very pretty. It was very light wasn’t it?


Leave a Reply

