When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Devil’s Food White Out Cake February 17, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 2:17 pm
Tags: ,

100_1942_00This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Stephanie of Confessions of a City Eater.  She chose Dorie’s Devil’s Food White Out Cake, which happens to be the cake featured on the cover of Dorie Greenspan’s book, Baking: From My Home to Yours. I ended up making this cake in advance for my Wilton Fondant and Gum Paste Class.

From the scraps, I also made a mini cake so that it would look similar to Dorie’s :)  This was also suppose to be my birthday cake, but I never got around to cutting into it on my birthday.  When it was finally sliced it was crazy because the icing had disintegrated, but the cake was still structurally okay.  Funny thing is that there was a huge empty gap where the icing use to be.  Oh well, I did have a chance to try the cake when I was icing it and it was very tasty and I love the marshmellowiness of the frosting.

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Devil’s Food White Out Cake”

  1. Karen Says:

    That is crazy that the icing disintegrated! Bummer! Glad you liked it anyway!

  2. Jules Says:

    That’s so interesting that the frosting just went away. It looks great!

  3. mike Says:

    You would never be able to tell – it still looks fantastic! All these recipes are learning experiences for me – that’s how I look at it – nice job!

  4. teaandscones Says:

    My frosting disappeared between the layers. Aliens??? Looks good tho.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers