When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Caramel Crunch Bars February 24, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Whitney of What’s left on the table?.  She chose Dorie’s Caramel Crunch Bars which are located on pages 112-113 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. This recipe always threw me off when I looked at the picture because the picture is one of Dorie’s varations, an ice cream sandwich.

YUM!!!

This week I decided that I was going to half the recipe because there is no way that I could keep these in my apartment without eating them.  Why you ask.  Because they have espresso, chocolate, and Heath Toffee Bits.

I LOVE Heath Bars.  LOVE!!!

I knew when I was making them that they were not going to look like the picture because the Heath Toffee Bits that I bought also have bits of milk chocolate in them too.  So I guess mine are extra chocolately from the bittersweet chocolate in the crust to the bittersweet melted chocolate on top and the milk chocolate sprinkled on top.

My bars really didn’t turn out like the picture.  I halved the recipe and baked it in a 8 x 8 baking dish and I think I might have baked it a little too long (12 minutes).  But the bars tasted GREAT.  I cut them into small squares and I have been snacking on the left over bits.  If I had some ice cream I would totally make some mini ice cream sandwich :)

100_1979

 

11 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Caramel Crunch Bars”

  1. Jules Says:

    They look delicious. Glad you enjoyed them!

  2. Beth Says:

    Weren’t they delish? I used mini Heath bars and just beat the heck out of them with a can of beans :-) I was very happy to have the extra chocolate on top.
    I immediately sent them to work with my husband b/c they were SO good…too good to keep in the house!

  3. Amanda Says:

    These look perfect, nice job! Mine were a bit crisp, but still tasty :)

  4. Jill Says:

    I loved the toffee on top, and extra chocolatey is not a problem!

  5. I almost doubled the recipe, because I knew that I wouldnt be getting many.

    They look great.

  6. pinkstripes Says:

    Your crunch bars look wonderful. YUM!

  7. Megan Says:

    I made 1/4 the recipe for the same reason – too dangerous to have around.

  8. teaandscones Says:

    These were good, weren’t they. Yours look delicious.

  9. Karen Says:

    I love heath bars too. Yours look great with the extra chocolate on top! Yummy!

  10. Teanna Says:

    They look so delicious! My bars didn’t look like the picture either, but at least they tasted good!

  11. Leslie Says:

    They look extra yummy! I brought them in to work since I wouldn’t have been able to restrain myself with them at home!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers