When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Cabbage Rolls aka Stuffed Cabbage March 2, 2009

Filed under: Main Courses — pastrybrush @ 4:24 pm
Tags: , ,

100_1966A couple of weeks ago, I was watching my friend’s dogs while he was out in CA and I was a little bored one night and decided that I was going to make my Grandma’s Cabbage Rolls.   I hadn’t made them in awhile, so I had to check her recipe to make sure that I had everything.  I have only changed two things in her recipe I use fresh garlic and brown rice.  You know I am trying to be a little healthier.

The Cabbage Rolls are extremly easy to make and just take a little bit of time since you have to pre cook the cabbage a little just so that it softens enough so that you can wrap the beef and rice mixture up.  If I would have had more time I would have made my Great Grandma’s Pierogies and Haluski.  Well the Haluski is really easy to make but the pierogies take a lot of time since I make the dough and everything else.  Hopefully one day soon I will take some time and make the pierogies and haluski and post about them 🙂

Back to the Cabbage Rolls

Before the oven

Before the oven

Cabbage Rolls aka Stuffed Cabbage

Source: My Grandma

2 lbs ground beef

1 large onion, diced finely

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 cups cooked white or brown rice

1 egg

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 Large cans Tomato Sauce

All Done :)

All Done 🙂

1 head of Cabbage

Cut the core out of the bottom of the cabbage.  Place the cabbage in a large pot of boiling water and cook for 10 minutes.  Take cabbage out and let cool until you can handle it. Pull the leaves off of the cabbage and set aside.  All of the extremely small leaves place in the bottom of a 9 x 13 baking dish.

Preheat your oven to 350°F.

For the filling combine the ground beef, onion, garlic, rice, egg, salt, and pepper and thoroughly mix.

To put together place a scant 1/4 cup of filling on one end of the cabbage leaf.  Roll once, fold in the sides, and then roll up the rest of the way (like a burrito).  Place the cabbage roll in the baking dish.  When all of the filling is gone pour the tomato sauce on top of the rolls and cover the dish with foil and place in a 350°F oven and bake for 1 1/2 to 2 hrs until the rolls are cooked through.

 

Leave a Reply

