When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Armagnac Cake March 3, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Lyb of And then I do the dishes.  She chose Dorie’s Chocolate Armagnac Cake, which is located on pages 279-281 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. I always wondered how this cake was going to taste since it has prunes soaked in Armagnac in it and ground pecans.  The picture for the cake looks so good that I knew I couldn’t pass it up.

A variation that you could do for the recipe was to use almonds instead of pecans and replace the Armagnac prunes with Whiskey soaked raisins.  I guess you could say that I kinda did the variation.  I just recently received ground toasted almonds for my birthday from King Arthur Flour and decided that this would be a good time to use them.  For the liquor there was also the option to use Brandy or Cognac instead.  I decided to go through my liquor cabinet and I found some Cognac, YAY!!! For the final cake, I ended up using ground almonds and cognac flambéed prunes.

I hadn’t flambéed in awhile and it was nice to see that blue and red flame come up.  It might have been one of the highlights of my Saturday 🙂

100_2001I actually didn’t really have any problems with the cake.  I ended up baking it in a 8 x 3 round cake pan that was sprayed with Pam and had a parchment circle in the bottom for 30 minutes and the cake came out perfectly 🙂  When I put the glaze on I actually had to spread it.  It was really never a spread itself icing for me.

When I finally tasted the cake it was interesting.  The cake by itself I didn’t like very much but with the icing on top it was fantastic.  I have no idea why this changed it for me, but it did 🙂

 

9 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Armagnac Cake”

  1. Karen Says:

    Looks delicious!! 🙂 It was hard to find armagnac. My husband said the frosting is what made it for him too! 🙂

  2. Jules Says:

    Interesting! We didn’t use the icing and went with a sprinkling of powdered sugar instead.

  3. Peggy Says:

    I loved this cake! I loved the icing too. Yours looks delicious.

  4. pinkstripes Says:

    Your cake looks gorgeous. I’m glad you liked it.

  5. Linda Says:

    great job on your cake!

  6. Jin Says:

    well done !!! your cake looks great !!!

  7. Tracey Says:

    Great job on your cake! My icing didn’t spread without a little assistance either so I know exactly what you mean.

  8. teaandscones Says:

    Looks really rich and moist and fudgy. Great cake.


Leave a Reply

