When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Chocolate Brownie Trifle Goodness March 4, 2009

Filed under: Trifles — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

I have been really behind on keeping up with writing.  I have been making stuff and taking pictures, but I just haven’t felt like writing.  So this week is my catch up week.  For the week of my birthday I ended up getting a few things from King Arthur.  Thanks Mom 🙂

With the items she purchased I ended up receiving a free brownie mix.  From the brownie mix came the idea to make a chocolate brownie trifle.  The recipe is actually based on one that  friend of the family makes.  She uses brownie mix, instant chocolate pudding, Cool Whip, and Heath Bar Bits.  I decided that I wanted to dress it up a bit.

To dress the recipe up I made the King Arthur Brownie mix and added 1 tsp of espresso powder to it and divided the mix into 3 – 8 inch cake pans to give me three layers.  Then I made a double batch of Dorie Greenspan’s Chocolate Pudding, and made some homemade sweetened whipped cream.  This turned out fantastic.  It was very rich.  I think next time I will beat up more heavy cream so that there is enough to pipe whipped cream stars for the top layer.

100_1974Chocolate Brownie Trifle

Source: Dorie, Me, and a family friend

1 package of brownie mix, baked and cooled

1/4 cup Kahlua

2 batches of Dorie’s Chocolate Pudding, cooled

2 cups Heavy Cream, beaten to stiff peaks with 1/3 cup sugar

3/4 cup Heath Bar Bits

In a trifle dish place 1 brownie round.  Poke it with a fork and pour 1/3 of the Kahlua on top of it.  Take 1/3 of the whipped cream and place that on top of the brownie, and then sprinkle with 1/4 cup of heath bits.  Place a layer of chocolate pudding on top of that.  Repeat process until you have three layers, ending with the chocolate pudding.  Place in the fridge for 4 hours to set.

You will have about 2 to 3 cups of pudding left over at the end.  So just put that in a bowl and enjoy.

 

One Response to “Chocolate Brownie Trifle Goodness”

  1. Amber Marie Says:

    This looks divine! It reminds me of a similar dessert – Death by Chocolate. I love the brownie and pudding combo. It looks so pretty!


Leave a Reply

