When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Irish Cream Poundcake inspired by HoneyB March 5, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Pound Cake — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

100_2011On Monday, I was going through my blog feed on Google Reader and came across  HoneyB’s entry for Chocolate Chip Irish Cream Poundcake.  I knew at that moment that I wanted to take my Nanny and Mom’s Poundcake  recipe and somehow change it to be an Irish Cream Poundcake.  There are many differences in the base recipe between the one that HoneyB used from Cooking Light to my Nanny’s recipe.  For example, the cake flour, baking powder, cream cheese, and brown sugar are nowhere to be seen in my family’s recipe.  I guess you could say that my family’s recipe is a simple one.After reviewing the recipe from Cooking Light, I decided that I would omit the chocolate chips because all I wanted was the Irish Cream Poundcake.  YUMMY!!!  The changes that I made to the family recipe are as follows:  the 3 cups of granulated sugar is now 1 1/2 cup packed brown sugar and 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar, and the 1 cup milk was substituted for 3/4 cup Bailey’s Irish Cream and 1/4 cup milk.

The first couple of times I made my Nanny/Mom’s poundcake I got confused because they both missed a step when they were writing the recipes.  Initially, I never added the 1/2 cup vegetable oil and the cake turned out just fine.  Later, my Nanny made it and I tasted it with the oil and it is a lot moister.  I decided this time to only use 1/4 cup of the oil that is called for in the recipe to cut back on calories since I was dumping in 3/4 cup of Bailey’s.

The poundcake turned out fantastic.  While the poundcake was baking the entire apartment smelled like irish cream.  When I took the cake out of the oven, I had a little problem with getting it out of the pan but that wasn’t bakers error.  I think I actually need a new bundt pan 🙂  I let the cake cool and then sprinkled it with powdered sugar.  It was awesome.  You really can taste the Bailey’s in it and it was super moist.

100_2012Irish Cream Poundcake

Source: My Nanny, my Mother, and HoneyB for the Irish Cream

2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

5 eggs

1 tbsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 tsp salt

3 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup Bailey’s Irish Cream

1/4 cup milk

Preheat oven to 300°F.  Spray a bundt pan with non stick cooking spray.

In a medium bowl sift together the flour and salt and set aside.  In a measuring up mix together the milk and Bailey’s and set aside.

In a large bowl cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy.  Next add each egg one at a time and beat after each addition until the eggs are fully incorporated.  Add the vanilla extract and oil to the butter mixture and mix until combined.  Mix in 1/3 of the flour mixture until incorporated and then 1/3 cup of the Bailey’s mixture.  Continue to alternate until all the flour and bailey’s is mixed into the batter.

Pour the batter into the prepared bundt pan and bake for 1.5 to 2 hrs.  The cake is usually done after 1.5 hrs, but insert a knife into the center to make sure it comes out clean.  When the cake is done, let it rest in the pan for 10 minutes and then invert it onto a cooling rack.  When cool, sprinkle with powdered sugar and enjoy.

 

One Response to “Irish Cream Poundcake inspired by HoneyB”

  1. Mom Says:

    Another substitution (from Weight Watchers) that I have used to help reduce the calories, but retain the moistness is apple sauce in place of the oil. The substitution works in equal measures so if the recipe calls for 2/3 cups of oil, use 2/3 cups of apple sauce instead!


Leave a Reply

