When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Cinnamon Coffee Custard Cups March 10, 2009

Filed under: Baked Custards,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Bridget of The Way the Cookie Crumbles.  She chose Dorie’s Lemon Custard Cups, which is located on page 387 of Baking: From My Home to Yours. I actually wanted to mix this recipe up a bit and I made two different flavors, which were in the playing around section.  I made the Orange-Star Anise Custard Cups and my personal favorite the Cinnamon-Coffee Custard Cups.

Since I decided to make two flavors, I did one half orange and the other cinnamon, I had to decide if I only wanted to use half of the orange zest and half the cinnamon stick.  In the end I chose to bump up the flavorings since other TWD members said that the flavors weren’t strong enough.  For the Orange-Star Anise Custard Cups, I used the zest of one orange and 3 points of a star anise star.  For the Cinnamon Coffee Custard Cups, I used one cinnamon stick and 1 tsp of espresso powder.

omg_cupsThe Cinnamon Coffee Custard Cups turned out fantastic.  I loved the flavor and they were perfectly cooked.  The Orange-Star Anise Custard Cups on the other hand had a great flavor but the texture was off because the egg didn’t get fully incorporated into the rest of the mixture before it was put in the oven aka human error :/ I have to agree with the TWD members comments about the custard being eggy, but I like eggy so I was all about making the cups.  I also love flan and a lot of people were comparing it to that 🙂

I ended up baking the Cinnamon Coffee Custard Cups in two espresso cups and two dragonfly tea cups.  I think they looked really cute.  The Orange-Star Anise Custard Cups were just baked in a creme brulee dish.

I decided to leave the foam on top of the Cinnamon-Coffee Custard Cups because it made it look like the crema on a freshly pulled espresso shot 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Cinnamon Coffee Custard Cups”

  1. Jules Says:

    Both the variations sound yummy! Nice job!

  2. Karen Says:

    That looks great!!! Love how you did the espresso in coffee cups! Very creative! 🙂

  3. Lillian Says:

    Ooh, now if the recipe had been called Cinnamon Coffee Custard Cups, I’d have been a lot more likely to have tried it. I made cookies instead, and they were yummy!

  4. pinkstripes Says:

    Both flavors sound amazing. Too bad the texture didn’t work on the orange one. They look great.

  5. teaandscones Says:

    Cinnamon and expresso sounds good. The cafe de monde cups are perfect (and I am in Louisiana, so I should know). Love the blog name.

  6. Jessica Says:

    The cinnamon coffee variation was the one that sounded the best to me and I’m glad my instincts weren’t off! I didn’t have cinnamon sticks in the house and I didn’t want to run to the store for such an easy recipe so I went the vanilla bean route — next time I will definitely try the cinnamon espresso!


Leave a Reply

