When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: French Yogurt Cake with Marmalade Glaze March 17, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 11:24 am
Tags: ,

100_2030This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Liliana of My Cookbook Addiction.  She chose Dorie’s French Yogurt Cake with Marmalade Glaze which is located on pages 224-225 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  This recipe was very easy and pretty straight forward.  I chose to stick with the flavors that were in the base recipe.  The only thing that I changed was that I used toasted ground almonds, hence the specks.  I also was unable to find lemon marmalade so I used orange and it turned out fantastic.

I had one problem with the cake.  When I was trying to take it out of the pan, the bottom of the cake got stuck.  This in turn lead to the cake splitting in half.   I have no idea why because I greased the pan and everything.  In the end, I pryed off the stuck pieces and applied them back to the cake, and you couldn’t even tell.  I think that when I make this cake again; I will put it in my mini non-stick loaf pans.

 

9 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: French Yogurt Cake with Marmalade Glaze”

  1. A few people had difficulties taking it out of the pan, but it still tastes as good.

  2. pinkstripes Says:

    Your cake looks wonderful. You can’t tell you had sticking problems.

  3. drfaulken Says:

    Sorry about it breaking, I remember you telling me about that when it happened. 😦

  4. Peggy Says:

    Even though it stuck and broke in half, it tasted so good, right? Yum. We loved it.

  5. Linda Says:

    From the picture, I couldn’t tell that you had sticking issues…great job on your cake!!! I also loved this recipe!

  6. Karen Says:

    Bummer that it stuck! It still tasted goo though right? 🙂

  7. teaandscones Says:

    Love the speckles of almond showing in the cake. Yummy!!!

  8. Michelle Says:

    Sorry your cake got stuck. I thought this recipe was very tasty!

  9. Caitlin Says:

    The bottom of mine got stuck too – oh darn, taste testing 🙂 It looks wonderful though!


Leave a Reply

