When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Blueberry Crumb Cake March 24, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Breakfast,Cake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 3:45 pm
Tags: ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Sihan of Befuddlement.  They chose Dorie’s Blueberry Crumb Cake located on pages 192-193 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I would like to thank Sihan for picking this recipe.  I have actually been looking forward to making it.  I was really close to changing it to a Vegan recipe, since I have gotten back into some vegan cooking.  But in the end I decided that I wanted to try it the original way first.

100_2050I saw on the message board that a lot of members were having trouble with their berries sinking during the cooking process.  This individuals were also using frozen blueberries.  This scared me at first since that is what I was going to use too.  The recommendation on the message board was to make sure they were coated in flour.  The problem was that the recipe already called to do that.  So my solution was to toss them in flour at the beginning of making the recipe and at the end, just in case they started to defrost a little.  In the end this helped out a lot because I didn’t have any sinking berries.

I ended up making this cake in an 9 x 9 square springform pan.  It came out perfectly.  I didn’t have any problems with it not baking all the way thru.  It was finished baking after 60 minutes.  The top was golden brown in color and my apartment smelled awesome :)  I waited for it to come to room temperature before taking it out of the pan and slicing it.  I decided to freeze half of it because it made a lot of crumb cake and I didn’t want any unnecesary temptations.  The next day, I sliced into the cake and it was heaven.  It was tender and yummy.  I loved the addition of walnuts to the topping.  I would absolutely make this again :)

 

10 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Blueberry Crumb Cake”

  1. Leslie Says:

    This looks terrific! Great idea to double dunk the berries in flour…yours look really well distributed.

  2. Caitlin Says:

    Beautiful job! No sinking berries at all :)

  3. Ivette Says:

    Your cake looks delicious! I just loved the topping on this cake.. it just went with it perfectly!

  4. Jill Says:

    Your cake looks great. I really enjoyed this one too.

  5. Tracey Says:

    Gorgeous! Your cake looks so fluffy and full of berries!

  6. I loved this cake as well. You’ll have to let us know how your vegan version turns out…i’m hosting a brunch and one of my friends is vegan, and coincidentally, I’m thinking about vegan-izing this recipe. Great job!

  7. Karen Says:

    Looks delicious! I am so glad you made it and that you liked it!

  8. Jules Says:

    Looks so delicious! I’m making it again soon.

  9. teaandscones Says:

    Looks just right to me. Yummy and Delicious.

  10. I like the height you reached. Looks good, and when I made it, I took the berries out right before using, tossing them in flour. That’s a good thing to do when adding nuts to a recipe also.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers