When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie on Wednesday: Coconut Butter Thins April 1, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 5:06 pm
Tags: , ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Jayne of The Barefoot Kitchen Witch.  She chose Dorie’s Coconut Butter Thins located on page 145 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I was very excited to make this recipe because I love coconut, lime, and macadamia nuts.  You put them all together in one recipe, there is no way that I couldn’t like it.

When these cookies were baking the smell reminded me of key lime pie.  One of the most perfect smells in the world.  To bring out more of a lime flavor, I took Dorie’s advice and rubbed the lime zest it with the sugar before creaming it with the softened butter.  While making the dough, I was so happy that there were no eggs in the batter.  That meant that I could just sit there and eat the dough as much as I wanted.  It was tasty.

Since I was running behind making this recipe, I decided that I was going to put it in my shortbread pan instead of rolling it out.  The cookies turned out great.  They were a little hard to get out of the pan, but they eventually came out and nothing was stuck to the pan.  The flavor of the cookies was perfect.  They had a nice hint of coconut, with a refreshing lime flavor, and some nutty saltiness from the nuts.  PERFECT 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie on Wednesday: Coconut Butter Thins”

  1. Karen Says:

    Glad you liked these! We loved the smell as well! 🙂

  2. pinkstripes Says:

    I loved these cookies. They were so delicious. I’m glad you liked them.

  3. teaandscones Says:

    These ‘sound’ like they came out just right. And they were good.


Leave a Reply

