When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Banana Creme Pie April 7, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Pie,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Amy of Sing for Your Supper.  She chose Dorie’s Banana Creme Pie which is located on pages 342-343 of Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I was very happy that this recipe was chosen because I have been eating bananas like crazy lately. Consequently, I have actually been craving banana creme pie and haven’t had one in awhile.

For the past month, I have been trying to lose a little bit of weight so that I would be able to fit into one of my dresses, since I am in my friends wedding in May.  I have been doing yoga a couple of times a week and also a BodyPump class at the gym.  On Sunday, I actually attended my first Zumba class.  It was pretty interesting, and crazy tiring.  I know that I can keep a beat.  I have been playing music for 15 years, but this class really threw me off.  Being in marching band and concert band if there is music I have to stay with the beat and when the moves are on upbeats I get thrown for a complete loop.  But I got through it 🙂

100_2072Since I am trying to lose weight, I knew that I couldn’t make an entire pie.  I decided to make only 1/3 of the recipe and make the pies in mini tart pans.  The recipe ended up making 5 mini pies.  They turned out fantastic.  I specifically loved the addition of cinnamon and nutmeg to the pastry cream.  It was the perfect compliment to the bananas and whipped cream.  Dorie’s recommendation to have the pie with coffee was spot on.  It was perfect 🙂  The size was also perfect because if I would have made an entire pie I could have eaten it in one sitting 🙂

 

12 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Banana Creme Pie”

  1. Teanna Says:

    Hahah I had to make these as minis as well! The last thing I need is a banana cream pie sitting around my apartment! Your little tartlets look fantastic!

  2. Jules Says:

    Cute pies! I was surprised by how much I liked the cinnamon/banana combo.

  3. Kimberly Says:

    Your little pies are adorable! I loved Zumba classes when I had a gym membership!

  4. Karen Says:

    Everyone where I live talks about Zumba. One of these days I will get to one of those classes! Love the minis! So cute!

  5. Way to cute on your mini pies.

  6. Kim.Soyer Says:

    Love the little mini pies and a great idea to keep from having a whole pie tempting you. I quickly cut up my pie and gave it away to keep myself from eating it all.

  7. Amanda Says:

    This look delicious! This pie was a hit at my house 🙂

  8. Love the mini pies— I went the same route, as I know that my hubs and I can polish off a whole pie without blinking an eye.

  9. Tracey Says:

    Your mini pies look marvelous! I made an entire pie and then gave it away so I wouldn’t eat the whole thing 🙂

  10. teaandscones Says:

    Hard to lose weight on TWD. So many of us are making the little pie-ettes these days. Hard to have a whole anything staring at your from the counter/fridge/freezer and lose anything. Your little pies look yummy!!!

  11. Annette Says:

    Your little spies look delicious! Yeah, I sent mine home with my parents. I had eaten too many coconut butter thins from the week before.

  12. Annette Says:

    I meant “pies”. 😉


Leave a Reply

