When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Tiramisu Cake May 5, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cupcakes,Tiramisu,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

100_2123This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Megan of My Baking Adventures. She chose Dorie’s Tiramisu Cake which is located on pages 226-228 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  As soon as I saw that Megan selected this recipe I was excited because I love tiramisu and I have been wanting to make Dorie’s Tiramisu Cake for awhile.  I had two reasons in the back of my head for why I wouldn’t be able to make the recipe: 1) I was leaving to go back home to Texas for one of my best friends weddings, and I wasn’t coming back until Monday, and 2) Sweets in my apartment is dangerous and I am “trying” to be good :).

In the end I decided that I was going to make half of the recipe and make cupcakes because they are easier to give away 🙂  I started to measure out the ingredients for the cake and wouldn’t you know that I didn’t end up halving the recipe.  Oh well, I was still going to make cupcakes.  This just meant that some unfilled and uniced ones would end up in the freezer for later use.  First off, I filled the cupcake liners way too much for the first batch and their muffin tops were crazy.  I ended up adding less batter for the second batch and they turned out perfect.  I baked them in a 350°F oven for 20 minutes and they came out perfectly.

For the filling I decided to make the full batch since I was icing and filling the cupcakes.  I also used all of the espresso mixture instead of just 1 tbsp and chose Kahlua as my liquor of choice.  To assemble the cupcakes; 1) I  cut a cone shape out of the center of each cupcake and discarded, 2) I brushed the center of the cupcake with the espresso syrup generously, 3) I filled the center of each cupcake with the mascarpone mixture and then piped it on top of each cupcake, and 4) I sprinkled each cupcake with shaved chocolate.

After the cupcakes had rested in the fridge for a few hours, I took one out to taste it.  It was perfect.  It was the perfect combination of cake to cream to espresso flavor.  The cream was light and not heavy or overpowering and the cake had a nice tight crumb and held onto the filling nicely.  The chocolate added a nice contrast to everything with its slight sweetness and crunch.  I would definately make this recipe again, and always in cupcake form 🙂

 

10 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Tiramisu Cake”

  1. Marthe Says:

    Cute cupcakes!! I also made cupcakes and absolutely loved them

    • Amanda Says:

      I love the cupcakes, they look awesome! I loved this recipe, so delish! I did an interview with Dorie if you want to stop by my blog 🙂

  2. Teanna Says:

    The cupcakes are absolutely adorable! You definitely could give those away to me any day!

  3. Betsy Says:

    I love the cupcakes. They look great!

  4. I love the cupcakes.

    They look fabulous.

  5. pinkstripes Says:

    YOur cupcakes look gorgeous. YUM!

  6. Karen Says:

    Cute cupcakes! I would have taken one of these!

  7. Clivia Says:

    What a versatile recipe this was for everyone. Glad you enjoyed!

  8. Tracey Says:

    Your cupcakes are beautiful! Next time I make this recipe I’m definitely going with cupcakes instead of a layer cake!

  9. Caitlin Says:

    Too cute, and perfect portion control 🙂


Leave a Reply

