When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Tartest Lemon Tart May 12, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Tarts,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 1:50 pm
Tags: , ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Babette of Babette Feasts. She chose Dorie’s Tartest Lemon Tart which is located on page 336 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  Like every other recipe the past few weeks, I scaled this one down to make a third of the recipe.  It would have made 3 tarts but I only decided to make two.

There was a lot of talk about this tart being bitter, too tart, too sweet, etc.  Many members said to taste the filling before you bake it to make sure that  you don’t need to add more sugar just in case it was too tart.  Some said to remove the pith of the lemon, which I was planning to do and then was too lazy.  In the end, I used half of a lemon for the recipe.  I tasted the filling before baking it and I LOVE it.

While baking in the oven the filling did bubble over the top, which made it really hard to take them out of the pan.  I literally had to take a toothpick and push the tart away from the sides all the way around.  In the process, I actually broke 3 toothpicks.  When they finally came loose they weren’t very pretty, so I covered them in confectioners’ sugar to cover some of the imperfections.  I actually had a little filling left over after filling the tarts and I baked it in a separate dish.  This actually gave me a chance to taste the filling before the tarts were finished cooling.

The initial taste of the filling was great.  It was very lemony, not very tart, BUT

100_2127the after taste was crazy bitter.  It was very off putting. I might have had a bad lemon or something, but it was crazy bitter.  I blame…

THE PITH!!!!

So next time that will be removed.  A couple days passed and I figured I needed to take pictures of the tarts and try them one more time.  There was still a hint of bitterness, but the crust and the dusting of confectioners’ sugar on top mellowed it out.  So in the end it was okay, but I am still completely confused why it tasted so bitter after it was cooked.  I guess the bitterness in the pith finally got distributed to the rest of the tart after while it was baking.

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Tartest Lemon Tart”

  1. Jules Says:

    Those look so adorable! I’m sorry it was disappointing. I chickened out and skipped the pith.

  2. Tracey Says:

    Your tarts are so cute with the little hearts! Sounds like we had a very similar experience. My tart was incredibly bitter. Next time, no pith!

  3. Andrea Says:

    Your little tartlets look great! Love the heart! I completely agree about the way too bitter taste after the initial ‘wow this is good and lemony’ — too bad for us and out pithy lemons! Let us know how it turns out if you make it again and remove the pith, if you give a non-bitter (ha!) review I might have to give this one another go 🙂

  4. teaandscones Says:

    cute little tarts. I used the whole thing w/ pith and they weren’t bitter at all. I think its the lemons.


Leave a Reply

