When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Fresh Mango Bread May 19, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Muffins,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 10:45 pm
Tags: , ,

tuesdayswithdorieI am really sorry that I am posting this late on Tuesday, but life has been a little crazy and I have been extremely lazy 🙂  Hey, that rhymed.

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Kelly of Baking with the Boys.  It is located on page 45 of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours.  When I saw this recipe was listed the first thing I thought was, “I had no clue this was even in the book.”

Before I made the recipe I started looking through what some of the other members did and a few people added coconut and I thought that was a great idea.  I didn’t want to add too much because 100_2138some of my friends don’t really like the texture of it, so I only added 1/2 cup of sweetened shredded coconut.  I also reduced the amount of cinnamon and ginger since some individuals thought it took away from the mangos.  I think I ended up using 1 tsp ground ginger and 3/4 tsp cinnamon.  I also decided that muffins were the best option for these babies because it would photograph better and you could just grab one and walk out the door.  In an essence it is a convenience food for me 🙂  To make the muffins look prettier I sprinkled the tops GENEROUSLY with sugar 🙂

When they came out of the oven they were fantastic.  I had a small muffin warm and another one at room temperature and they were just as good.  I ended up making 6 giant muffins and 4 regular sized muffins.  The giant muffins baked for 35 minutes at 350°F, the last 15 minutes I covered them in foil so they wouldn’t brown too much.  The regular muffins baked for 20 minutes at 350°F.

 

7 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Fresh Mango Bread”

  1. I almost put coconut in mine.

    Yours looks great.

  2. Leslie Says:

    Oh yum! I bet these were amazing with the coconut!

  3. Wendy Says:

    YUM. Your subs sound great. I think I will make muffins next time.

  4. Karen Says:

    Yum!! All that sugar looks delicious on top of that!

  5. uclala Says:

    Your mango muffin looks delish! Muffins sound like the way to go since it’s so convenient as you said. Much better than eating slice after slice…

  6. Caitlin Says:

    Dang. I definitely should have sprinkled mine with sugar, that looks awesome!

  7. teaandscones Says:

    Muffins look really good.


Leave a Reply

