When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Chipster-Topped Brownies May 26, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 11:41 am
Tags: ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Beth of Supplicious.  She chose Dorie’s Chipster-Topped Brownies which is located on pages 94-95 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. Every time I read the title of the recipe I get so confused.  So when I saw that we were making these I actually had to pick up the cookbook just to see what it really was.

OH!!!

I have been calling these Chocolate Chip Cookie Topped Brownies, but I guess that title is too long so Dorie shortened it 🙂  Every time I thought about this recipe before I even made it all I thought was, “How am I suppose to spread the cookie dough over the brownie layer without it going BLAH.”  I figured I would pass that bridge when I came to it.  I was going to make this recipe on Saturday and when I started looking for all the ingredients I realized that I didn’t have butter.

The funny part is that when I told some of my friends this they were really shocked.

“Really, YOU had no butter in your apartment.”

That’s right folks.  The person that keeps pounds and pounds of butter in the freezer, just in case.  Actually ran out 🙂  With that said I actually didn’t get around to making the recipe until last night.  I decided to only make half of the recipe because I know me.  I would have gone out and bought a gallon of ice cream and just sat there eating the brownies warm with vanilla ice cream on top.  Which I am still tempted to do, but I am trying to be good.  I made the recipe in an 8 x 8 x 3 cake pan.

Yeah, I have one of those 🙂

100_2140I made the brownie layer and it turned out great.  I set it aside and went at the cookie dough layer.  That turned out good too.  I then took my cookie scoop and placed scoops of dough randomly on top of the brownie.  I thought about just baking it right then, but then I got out a small spatula and started to spread the cookie dough layer out and it worked.  I was so surprised.  I put the brownie/cookie in the oven and baked it for 45 minutes and it came out perfectly.

Once they were cool enough to handle I sliced them and tasted one.  HOLY CRAP!!! These things are fantastic and really rich.  At that moment, I wish I had some ice cream and whipped cream because it would have been perfect 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Chipster-Topped Brownies”

  1. Karen Says:

    I am glad to hear someone other than me liked these. They really are delicious aren’t they? 🙂

  2. Wendy Says:

    Wow! Your brownies look perfect. I’m glad they were a success for you.

  3. Leslie Says:

    It does sound great with vanilla ice cream, who could resist that? They look perfect!

  4. uclala Says:

    Your brownies look fabulous! I love how the walnuts peep out in your brownies, mine kind of clumped together. It seems like a half recipe doesn’t create the timing problem as the full recipe does because your brownies look perfect!

  5. Jules Says:

    So glad they were enjoyed! I used an 8 x 8 as well. Worked like a charm.

  6. teaandscones Says:

    I ran out of butter once. IT WILL NOT HAPPEN AGAIN!!!

    Those chipsters look good.


Leave a Reply

