When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Cinnamon Squares FAIL June 2, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 12:01 am
Tags: , , ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Tracey of Tracey’s Culinary Adventures. She chose dorie’s Cinnamon Squares which are located on pages 210-211 of Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I was really looking forward to this recipe because I LOVE cinnamon and coffeecake.

I had no issues with making the coffeecake or it baking up.  My problem came when I tried to take it out of the pan and it was stuck to the bottom.  Once I got it out of the pan, it looked horrible.  All of the filling sunk to the bottom and it was a cinnamon chocolate mess.  I tasted the coffeecake and it tasted fantastic, it was soft and moist and had a great cinnamon flavor.  I even used my really good cinnamon from Penzeys Spices, Extra Fancy Vietnamese Cassia Cinnamon.  It tasted great, but looks horrible and I have no clue why everything sunk 😦

Enjoy the coffeecake carnage from the bottom

100_2147

 

9 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Cinnamon Squares FAIL”

  1. Jules Says:

    Mine sunk as well! But I got it out of the pan ok. I have no idea what happened. Loved the flavor, though.

  2. Natalie Says:

    huh…I wonder why that happened? At least it tasted fantastic.

  3. Leslie Says:

    Oh no! I had a little sinkage, but the parchment on the bottom made it a little easier to get the cake out of the pan. I have a theory about the sinking chocolate. Some of mine I almost shaved off of the bar, and some I chopped. I think the chopped pieces sunk while the chocolate shavings were light enough to hold their own in the middle of the two layers. I’m glad you got to taste it and I hope you’ll make it again, it was SO delicious!

  4. Megan Says:

    Awww – bummer! But that wouldn’t stop me from eating it – right out of the pan!

  5. Amanda Says:

    Oh drat! Mine was a flop too. It did smell Heavenly, but something went wrong with mine. Amazingly, my ribbon didn’t sink LOL

  6. My filling sunk to the bottom too.

    But I didn’t try to take it out of the pan.

  7. Wendy Says:

    If it tasted great it’s not a failure! Too bad about the sticky pan.

  8. Tracey Says:

    Thanks for baking with me this week! What a bummer that it stuck to the pan! Sorry about that but at least it tasted great 🙂

  9. uclala Says:

    Sorry the Cinnamon Square cake didn’t want to come out of its pan! At least you got to taste it! =) I think it looks yummy in the pan and would have eaten it as is… well maybe drizzled the chocolate frosting on top!


Leave a Reply

